Sri Lanka to Bowl First Against New Zealand

Sri Lanka are the reigning World Twenty20 champions and need to win just one match against New Zealand to retain their number one ranking.

Published: 07th January 2016 08:01 AM  |   Last Updated: 07th January 2016 08:01 AM   |  A+A-

New Zealand Cricket S_R

New Zealand’s Matt Henry, center, celebrates after dismissing Sri Lanka’s Chamara Kapugedera for 10 in the fifth One Day International Cricket match at Blake Park in Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand, Tuesday, Jan. 5, 2016.


MOUNT MAUNGANUI: Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bowl in the first Twenty20 match against New Zealand in Mount Maunganui on Thursday.

The two-match series marks the start of the build-up for both teams towards the World Twenty20 in India in March. 

Sri Lanka are the reigning World Twenty20 champions and need to win just one match against New Zealand to retain their number one ranking. 

Dinesh Chandimal takes over as acting captain while Lasith Malinga remains sidelined by injury, and Kane Williamson skippers New Zealand skipper in the absence of Brendon McCullum. 

Williamson said he would have batted first had he won the toss. The wicket "may get a bit slower which will help our bowlers in the second innings", he said. 

New Zealand will be without strike bowler Tim Southee who is nursing a bruised heel, while McCullum has finished his involvement with the shortest form of the game before retiring from all international cricket next month.

However, Corey Anderson and Grant Elliott return from the injuries that sidelined them from the recent Test and one-day series, both won by New Zealand.


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (captain), Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Grant Elliott, Luke Ronchi, Matt Henry, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell McClenaghan, Trent Boult 

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Danushka Gunathilaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Angelo Mathews, Milinda Siriwardana, Chamara Kapugedera, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Jeffrey Vandersay. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp