Tour Games vs India Gives Youngsters a Chance: WA Coach Marsh

Former Australia opener Geoff Marsh, who will be the coach of the Western Australia XI that will take on India in the two tour games.

Published: 07th January 2016 08:28 PM  |   Last Updated: 07th January 2016 08:28 PM   |  A+A-


PERTH: Former Australia opener Geoff Marsh, who will be the coach of the Western Australia XI that will take on India in the two tour games is hopeful that some of the talented youngsters will get an opportunity to prove their worth, staking claim for selection in state side's first team.

The Western Australia named their squads for the two matches that will be captained by Will Bosisto. Bosisto is a former U-19 captain and led the team to U-19 World Cup final in 2012 where in they lost to eventual champions India.

Just five of Friday's 13-man Twenty20 squad has first-class experience, likewise with Saturday's 50-over squad.

"There's a good mix of young and old. I think the great thing about the games is they're an opportunity for some kids to play against India and put their hand up (for higher honours)," Marsh was quoted as saying by Perth Now newspaper.

Two former Twenty20 internationals and Perth Scorchers squad members — batsman Travis Birt and leg-spinner James Muirhead are there in the squad.

But Muirhead will undergo a fitness test before playing on Friday as he recovers from wrist surgery.

"He had an operation on his wrist before he came (to Perth for the BBL). I'm not sure whether he's going to play (on Friday), but he'll definitely play Saturday."

Bosisto is one of the five cricketers on Perth Scorchers' stand bye list. Others are Josh Inglis, David Moody, Josh Nicholas and Liam O'Connor.

"We're really happy with Will, he's taken big strides this season. Nobody has worked harder than he has over the past four of five weeks to get himself ready for not only these games, but the Futures League game in Canberra on Monday."

The tourists arrived in Perth yesterday and had a training session at the WACA today.

The match will be streamed live on Cricket Australia's website.

Western Australia Squads

Twenty20: Will Bosisto (captain), Travis Birt, Jake Carder, Ryan Duffield, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis, Matt Kelly, David Moody, Jaron Morgan, James Muirhead, Josh Nicholas, Liam O'Connor, D'Arcy Short.

One-dayer: Will Bosisto (captain), Alex Bevilaqua, Jake Carder, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis, David Moody, Jaron Morgan, James Muirhead, Liam O’Connor, Drew Porter, D’Arcy Short, Mark Turner.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp