Injured Taylor Out of New Zealand ODI Squad

Senior New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor was ruled out of both the upcoming Pakistan and Australia one-day internationals.

Published: 23rd January 2016 11:55 AM  |   Last Updated: 23rd January 2016 11:55 AM   |  A+A-


Ross Taylor will captain New Zealand in the absence of Daniel Vettori. (Photo: AP)


WELLINGTON: Senior New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor was today ruled out of both the upcoming Pakistan and Australia one-day internationals after suffering a serious side strain.

Taylor was injured in last night's third Twenty20 against Pakistan which New Zealand won by 95 runs to seal the series 2-1.

New Zealand Cricket said in a statement he had been ruled out of the matches against Pakistan and Australia but left open the possibility he would return for the two Tests against Australia in late February.

The good news for New Zealand was an indication that big-hitting skipper Brendon McCullum would return for the third match against Pakistan on January 31.

McCullum has been sidelined with a back complaint since late last year and missed the last three ODIs in the Sri Lanka series.

All-rounders Corey Anderson and Grant Elliott return to the ODI squad after missing the Sri Lanka matches because of injury, and Test wicketkeeper BJ Watling will replace Luke Ronchi after the first Pakistan ODI on Monday.

"We've talked about the importance of creating depth in all positions and bringing BJ into the side for the second and third ODI will give him some time against the white ball,"coach Mike Hesson said.

Colin Munro, who scored half-centuries against Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the Twenty20s, has been added to the ODI squad with Mitch Santner the only recognised spinner.

"Colin was impressive with the bat during the recent Twenty20 series, but he's also selected on his ability to give us another option with the ball," Hesson said.

"With the pitches we're playing on we've opted for the one spin option. It gives Mitch Santner more responsibility as he'll likely be asked to bowl more overs, which will be a good opportunity for his development."

New Zealand ODI squad:

Martin Guptill, Tom Latham (first two ODIs), Brendon McCullum (third ODI), Kane Williamson, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Grant Elliott, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi (first ODI), BJ Watling (second and third ODIs), Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Mitchell McClenaghan.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp