RYA Metro Star reign supreme in inter-club football

RYA Metro Star beat RCC Diva 3-1 in the final of the Star inter-club football tournament, powered by Arete Homes, at Don Bosco School, Egmore.

Published: 04th September 2017 02:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 04th September 2017 08:31 AM   |  A+A-

Father Arul Raja of Don Bosco School, Egmore, with players of RYA Metro Star, Malik bt Sai Saran 6-4, 6-2. winners of the Star inter-club football tournament | MARTIN LOUIS

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: RYA Metro Star beat RCC Diva 3-1 in the final of the Star inter-club football tournament, powered by Arete Homes, at Don Bosco School, Egmore. The school premises wore a festive look on Sunday, with makeshift tents brimming with enthusiasts, who came armed with placards to cheer their teams. Players included youngsters as well as the middle-aged. Father Arul Raja, principal of the school, gave away prizes. Purab Ghoda walked away with the Golden Boot while the Golden Glove award to Pratyusha Jain. Final: RYA Metro Star 3 bt RCC Diva 1. Semifinals: RYA Metro Star 3 bt RYA Cosmo 1; RCC Diva1 bt AFC Galaxy 0. Special Awards: Golden Boot: Purab Ghoda, Golden Glove: Pratyusha Jain.

Rohit, Prashanth shine

R Rohit Ram’s 5/33 and D Prashanth Prabhu’s unbeaten 121 paved the way for Thiruvallur to thrash Tiruvannamalai by innings and 176 runs in the TNCA inter-district under-19 tournament. Other than Prashanth, R Vivek made a valuable contribution of 97 runs. M Mathivan supported Rohit in bowling, taking 4/21. Krishnagiri took first innings lead against Kanyakumari in another match.

R Arvind, S Mohana Kumar and V Dravid Rajan took three wickets each to help Krishnagiri bowl out Kanyakumari for 129. Their team was 139/4 at stumps. Brief scores: Tiruvannamalai 89 in 35.1 ovs and 66 in 26.5 ovs (R Rohit Ram 5/33, M Mathivanan 4/21) lost to Thiruvallur 331/6 in 90 ovs (R Vivek 97, R Raja Guru 49, D Prashanth Prabhu 121 no, Aditya Venkatesh 41; S Sathyamoorthy 3/101). Kanyakumari 129 in 43 ovs (P Sunil Kumar 31; R Arvind 3/13, S Mohana Kumar 3/35, V Dravid Rajan 3/53) vs Krishnagiri 139/4 in 49 ovs (S Ganesh 78 no).

Paramveer advances

Paramveer Singh Bajwa defeated Prithvi Sekhar 6-4, 6-3 in the singles final qualifying round of the 8th SR Subramaniam-ITF men’s Futures tournament being played at the Madras Cricket Club courts. Results: Qualifiers: Paramveer Singh Bajwa bt Prithvi Sekhar 6-4, 6-3; Tejas Chaukulkar bt Armaan Bhatia 6-1, 6-2; Arjun Kadhe bt Vignesh Peranamallur 7-6 (0), 6-1; Anvit Bendre bt Anurag Nenwani 6-3, 6-3; Li-Wie Tan (TPE) bt Kento Tagashira (JPN) 6-2, 4-0 retd; Kunal Vazirani bt Faisal Qamar 7-6 (6), 4-6, 6-4; Jessy Kalambay (SUI) bt Suraj R Prabodh 4-6, 7-6 (3),6-4; Vijayant

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp