Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami return to India squad for first three ODIs against Australia

The selectors chose to rest leading spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, as per the BCCI's rotation policy.

Published: 10th September 2017 02:38 PM  |   Last Updated: 10th September 2017 02:38 PM   |  A+A-

Indian pacer Mohammed Shami (File | AP)


NEW DELHI: The fast bowling duo of Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami today returned to a 16-member India squad for the first three games of the five-match ODI series against Australia.

The selectors have chosen to rest leading spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, as per the BCCI's rotation policy, for the first three games of the series, starting September 17 in Chennai.

The only change in the Virat Kohli-led squad was the omission of pacer Shardul Thakur. Yadav and Shami, who were rested after the Sri Lanka Test series, have been recalled after a break.

India have named a 16-member squad instead of 15 for the first three games. Mumbai pacer Thakur will now go back to India A series for New Zealand.

Selection committee chairman MSK Prasad said players such as Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel have been given an extended run due to their impressive showings on the tour of Sri Lanka, where India won all their matches.

"The team for the three ODIs against Australia has been selected in line with the rotation policy of the Board and accordingly R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested," Prasad said.

The former India stumper added, "The team's performance during the Sri Lanka tour was outstanding and players like Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, who performed very well are being given an extended run and this will in turn supplement our approach, to build a strong reserve strength, as we prepare for forthcoming tours."

Ashwin is playing county cricket in England while leftarm spinner Jadeja has been rested since the Test series in Sri Lanka last month. As per his four-match contract, Ashwin has two more home games left for Worcestershire.

As expected there were not much changes from the squad that thrashed Sri Lanka in the ODI series recently.

The squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vicecaptain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp