All-rounder​ Chris Morris returns to South Africa squad for Australia tour

The 31-year-old was sidelined from the recently-concluded series against Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe due to an injury.

Published: 18th October 2018 12:46 AM  |   Last Updated: 18th October 2018 12:46 AM   |  A+A-

South Africa all-rounder Chris Morris (File | AP)


JOHANNESBURG: South African all-rounder Chris Morris has returned to the squad for their upcoming three-match ODI series and one-off T20 international against Australia.

The 31-year-old was sidelined from the recently-concluded series against Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe due to an injury.

Making the team announcement, Cricket South Africa (CSA) National Selection Panel (NSP) convener Linda Zondi said that Morris has confirmed his fitness by giving an "excellent" performance in the domestic circuit.

"Chris confirmed his fitness with his excellent form for the Titans in the first two rounds of the 4-Day Domestic Series. He is the leading wicket-taker in this competition to date and also adds value as a batting option in the lower-order," sport24 quoted Zondi, as saying.

Speaking about South Africa's vision for 2019 World Cup, Zondi said that the recently-concluded Zimbabwe series was a big plus for the team as their strike bowlers Imran Tahir and Dale Steyn returned to their very best.

He further expressed confidence that the team is on the right path as far as World Cup is concerned.

"We feel that we got quite a lot out of the Zimbabwe series, notably the form of Imran Tahir and the return of Dale Steyn to his very best. Heinrich Klaasen took his chances well both with bat and behind the stumps and the same applies to a lesser extent to Reeza Hendricks in a series in which batting was not easy," he said.

"We are confident that our Vision 2019 strategy for the ICC World Cup is progressing along the right lines," he added.

Following is the full South Africa squad for the Australia tour:

Faf du Plessis (captain), Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Chris Morris, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn. (ANI)

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp