Kaushik ton puts Jolly Rovers in command against India Pistons  

Riding on M Kaushik Gandhi’s 143, Jolly Rovers posted 435/8 against India Pistons on the first day of the TNCA senior division league match held at the CPT-IP Grounds.

Published: 26th February 2020 02:52 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th February 2020 10:40 AM   |  A+A-

SN Pandey (right), managing director of CPCL, inaugurated the PSPB athletics meet

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: Riding on M Kaushik Gandhi’s 143, Jolly Rovers posted 435/8 against India Pistons on the first day of the TNCA senior division league match held at the CPT-IP Grounds. Brief scores: (first-innings restricted to 100 overs): At CPT-IP: Jolly Rovers 435/8 (Kaushik Gandhi 143, Murali Vijay 87, B Aparajith 75, R Sonu Yadav 40 n.o; M Suresh Babu 3/79) vs India Pistons. At IC-Guru Nanak: Vijay 332/7 (Daryl S Ferrario 83, KB Arun Karthick 121; M Siddharth 5/91, M Abhinav 3/90) vs Grand Slam. At IIT-Chemplast: Alwarpet CC 101 (R Rohit 5/24) vs Young Stars 126/3 (R Sathyanarayan 46). At MRF-Pachaiyappa’s: Globe Trotters 297/9 (Sanvir Singh 98, K Mukunth 79; ME Yazh  Arun Mozhi 4/63) vs Swaraj CC. At Nelson-Wahe Guru: Nelson SC 146 (P Praveen Kumar 47; MS Sanjay 3/26, A Ranjan 3/16) vs MRC A 144/9  (Smit K Patel 54; W Antony Dhas 5/38, N Selvakumaran 4/38).  At MAC: AGORC 392/7 (P Francis Rokins 136, Adhithya Raghuraman 80, S Parameeswaran 51, S Ashwath 46; Gowtham Thamarai Kannan 3/116) vs MCC.

TN women lose
Lalitha Sharma’s 3/25 helped Delhi beat Tamil Nadu by six wickets in the BCCI senior women’s one-dayers in Mumbai. In the women’s under-19 one-dayers, Riddhi’s unbeaten 75 came in handy for Vidarbha to register a two-wicket win over Tamil Nadu in Rajkot. 

Brief scores: Tamil Nadu 83 in 38.3 ovs (Lalita Sharma 3/25) lost to Delhi 87/4 in 26.5 ovs. Tamil Nadu U-19 164/9 in 50 ovs (S Swathi 58; Vedanti Salodkar 3/25) lost to Vidarbha U-19 167/8 in 47.5 ovs (Riddhi 75 n.o; KB Vamsi 3/39).

Sreeman shines
S Sreeman’s unbeaten 44 enabled Vels Vidyashram to beat St John’s Public School by four wickets in the final of the inter-school U-17 tournament organised by Chengalpattu District Cricket Association held at Sumangali grounds, Santos­h­ap­uram. M Selvakumar, owner of the TNPL franchise Salem Sp­a­rtans, gave away the trophies.

Brief scores: St John’s Public School 107 in 22.5 ovs (Aravind 3/26, Deepak Raghavendra 3/16) lost to Vels Vidyashram 108/6 in 15.1 ovs (S Sreeman 44 n.o; Joshua John 3/38). MoM: S Sreeman. Special awards: Most valuable player: J Jasper (Kendriya Vidyalaya 1). Best bowler: Md HD Shayan (St John’s PC). Best wicketkeeper: S Sanjay (St John’s). Best all-rounder: Deepak R (Vels Vidyashram). Hat-trick: Aneesh T (PSBB Millennium, OMR).

Nagaraj excels
K Nagaraj’s 4/56 propelled Autolec ERC to beat Ebenezer CA in a TNCA Thiruvallur DCA second division league match.

Brief scores: II Division: Ebenezer CA 169/8 in 30 ovs (K Kanibalan 62; K Nagaraj 4/56) lost to Autolec ERC 173/3 in 28.3 ovs (E Edison 50 n.o).
PSPB athletics meet

Amiya Mallick of IOCL bagged gold in the men’s 100m while Sini A Markose of ONGC won gold in the women’s category of the Petroleum Sports Promotion Board’s (PSPB) inter-unit athletics meet. 
Men: 10,000m: Suresh Kumar Patel (ONGC, 31.47.8), Gurupreet (HPCL, 32.36.9), Inderjeet Patel (ONGC, 40.33.3). 100m: Amiya Mallick (IOCL,10.48), Siddha­­­­­­­­­­­­n­th Thingalaya (ONGC, 10.56), Manas Gogol (OIL, 10.94). 400m: Ayush Dabas (ONGC, 52.8), Shakthi Singh (EIL, 1.02.4), Debajith Neog (OIL, 1.03.2). Shotput: Om Prakash Singh (ONGC, 18.06), Ashish Bhalotia (IOCL, 16.73), Sourabh Vij (ONGC, 16.29). Women: 100m: Sini A Markose (ONGC, 17.21), Sharm­­­­i­la V (CPCL, 18.6), Aishwarya Raman (CPCL, 19.36).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp