Zimbabwe names squad for Sri Lanka Tests, Tendai Chatara ruled out

Tendai Chatara has failed to recover from the bicep injury, which he had sustained during a recent domestic match.

Published: 16th January 2020 02:17 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th January 2020 02:17 PM   |  A+A-

Zimbabwe fast bowler Tendai Chatara

Zimbabwe fast bowler Tendai Chatara (Photo | APF)


HARARE: Zimbabwe fast bowler Tendai Chatara has been ruled out of the upcoming two-Test series against Sri Lanka.

According to icc-cricket.com, Chatara has failed to recover from the bicep injury, which he had sustained during a recent domestic match.

Opening batsmen Kevin Kasuza and Brian Mudzinganyama and left-arm spinner Ainsley Ndlovu are the other three uncapped players in the 15-member squad.

The 33-year-old Sean Williams, who has played 10 Tests scoring a total of 553 runs, will lead the hosts in the series. Williams has also scalped 17 wickets in the longest format of the game.

Zimbabwe had last played a Test in November 2018 when they toured Bangladesh. The country was banned from ICC events in July 2019 because of political interference but was readmitted by the global body three months later.

The first match of the series will begin on January 19 and the second on January 27. Both the matches will be played at the Harare Sports Club. Zimbabwe have never won a Test match against Sri Lanka, ever since the two teams first met in 1994/95.

Full squad: Sean Williams (captain), Sikandar Raza Butt, Regis Chakabva, Craig Ervine, Kyle Jarvis, Kevin Kasuza, Timycen Maruma, Prince Masvaure, Brian Mudzinganyama, Carl Mumba, Ainsley Ndlovu, Victor Nyauchi, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano, Charlton Tshuma

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp