India vs Sri Lanka first T20I: Dasun Shanaka wins toss, opts to bowl as Varun Chakravarthy, Prithvi Shaw get debut caps

Sri Lanka won the toss and opted to bowl in the opening T20I against India, which handed debut caps to Varun Chakravarthy and Prithvi Shaw.

Published: 25th July 2021 08:14 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th July 2021 08:14 PM   |  A+A-

Sri Lanka Cricket Team

Sri Lanka Cricket Team (Photo | AP)


COLOMBO: Sri Lanka won the toss and opted to bowl in the opening T20 International against India, which handed debut caps to mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy and dashing opener Prithvi Shaw here on Sunday.

For Sri Lanka, senior pacer Isuru Udana is back in the side with Chamika Karunaratne and Charith Asalanka making their T20 debuts.


India: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kushan, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson, Krunal Pandya, Buvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp