USA drops Fabian Johnson for 2018 World Cup qualifiers

Borussia Moenchengladbach defender Fabian Johnson has made only a handful of appearances for his Bundesliga club this season, but started in his team's 2-1 win over Hanover96 on Saturday.

Published: 02nd October 2017 01:32 PM  |   Last Updated: 02nd October 2017 01:32 PM   |  A+A-

Dortmund's Lukasz Piszczek, left, and Gladbach's Fabian Johnson vie for the ball during the German Bundesliga soccer match between Borussia Dortmund and Borussia Moenchengladbach in the Signal Iduna Park stadium in Dortmund, Germany, Saturday, Sept. 23, 2


CHICAGO: Borussia Moenchengladbach defender Fabian Johnson was a notable omission as United States coach Bruce Arena named a 26-man squad on Sunday for his team's crucial 2018 World Cup qualifiers.

Johnson has made only a handful of appearances for his Bundesliga club this season, but started in his team's 2-1 win over Hanover96 on Saturday.

The former Germany under-21 international has made 57 appearances for the United States since first being called up by Jurgen Klinsmann in 2011.

Arena's men face a crunch World Cup qualifier against Panama in Orlando on Friday before taking on Trinidad & Tobago in their final CONCACAF region qualifier on October 10.

The United States must win both games to be certain of grabbing one of the three automatic qualifying berths for the 2018 finals in Russia.

Arena expressed confidence that his squad would be capable of delivering the results needed to secure qualification.

"It's a roster we've selected that we believe will give us success in these next two games," Arena said. 

"The players always give the commitment, that's never an issue. The issue is whether we get the results we need, and I think we're positioned to do that. 

"I think if it comes down to where we need four or six points in our last two games, I think that's fine and we'll get it done."


Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Atlanta United), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake).

Defenders: DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/ENG), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca/MEX), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana/MEX), Tim Ream (Fulham/ENG), Jorge Villafana (Santos Laguna/MEX), DeAndre Yedlin (Newcastle United/ENG), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City).

Midfielders: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Paul Arriola (DC United), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/CAN), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy).

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/CAN), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (Hamburg/GER).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp