World Cup: Why was Dharmasena made umpire for final despite his wrong one in semis?

Normally when an umpire makes a clear mistake, he doesn’t get a posting for the next big match.

Published: 15th July 2019 07:49 PM  |   Last Updated: 15th July 2019 08:10 PM   |  A+A-

Kumar Dharmasena. (File | AFP)

Kumar Dharmasena. (File | AFP)

Express News Service

The decision of the umpires to award England six runs instead of five when the World Cup final was poised on a knife’s edge has been termed erroneous by multiple-time former ICC Umpire of the Year Simon Taufel. The Australian has also said he stands by Kumar Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus, considering the heat of the moment and complexities surrounding the rule.

Neither does the ICC blame the officials. On principle, it refrains from commenting on umpiring decisions. “The umpires take decisions on the field with their interpretation of the rules and we don’t comment on any decision as a matter of policy,” said an ICC spokesperson on Monday. So far so good, but the matter doesn’t end there. It leads to a new question.

ALSO READ | World Cup final: Did umpires blunder by giving England six runs for overthrow?

Dharmasena had made an error in the England-Australia semifinal as well. He had ruled Jason Roy caught behind when the batsman had not touched the ball. Normally when an umpire makes a clear mistake, he doesn’t get a posting for the next big match. In this case, the Sri Lankan was asked to stand in the very next one, that too the final. According to sources, this is against usual practice. It was Dharmasena who signaled ‘six runs’ in the 50th over of the England innings.

Not that there was nobody else. Even after leaving out the umpires from the participating countries --- England and New Zealand --- there were Aleem Dar of Pakistan and Australia’s Rod Tucker. That the ICC still went for Dharmasena despite his ‘wrong one’ in the previous match is a question without an answer. Why him again? The ICC may not come up with an explanation.

The posting of umpires is done by the ICC’s Cricket Operations team. It comes under Geoff Allardice, the world body’s General Manager of Cricket. The matter of who stands in which match is handled by Adrian Griffith, the former West Indies opener, who holds the post of Referees and Umpires Administration Manager. This is unlikely to come under scanner immediately, because the review of umpires July onwards will be done in June next year. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Express@WC news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)

Comments(1)

Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

  • Mano

    an absolutely stupid article - umpires do make mistakes and that is why there is the DRS system. Unfortunately
    3 months ago reply
flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp