IPL-2018: CSK opt to field against KKR

CSK are playing at home after serving a two-ban after the spot-fixing scandal which rocked the cash-rich tournament in 2013.

Published: 10th April 2018 08:38 PM  |   Last Updated: 10th April 2018 08:38 PM   |  A+A-

Chennai Super Kings have won the toss and elected to field. (Photo | PTI)


CHENNAI: Amidst strong protests against holding the IPL match on the issue of Cauvery waters issue, the outing between the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and the Kolkata Knight Riders began on Tuesday night amidst unprecedented security for a sport event.

After a lot of traffic restrictions around the stadium and the arrival of the teams accompanied by tight security, the toss for the game was taken at 7.43 pm, a delay of 13 minutes. 

CSK captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to field against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the Indian Premier League game marred by Cauvery protests here on Tuesday.

Life in several parts of the city was thrown out of gear after many Tamil outfits staged protests against the holding of IPL matches in Chepauk stadium to demand a Cauvery Management Board from the Centre.

CSK, who rode on Dwayne Bravo's whirlwind 30-ball 68 to beat Mumbai Indians dramatically by one wicket, are playing at home after serving a two-ban after the spot-fixing scandal which rocked the cash-rich tournament in 2013.

KKR, meanwhile, registered a comfortable four-wicket victory against Virat Kohli's Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in their opening game at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Led by their new captain Dinesh Karthik, the visitors have a fresh look to their team after the IPL auctions.


Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Vinay Kumar, Piyush Chawla, Tom Curran, Kuldeep Yadav

Chennai Super Kings: Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Sam Billings, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir, Shardul Thakur


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp