SRM overcome ONGC to lift P John Memorial volleyball men’s crown

SRM Univeristy blanked ONGC (Dehradun) 25-18, 26-24, 25-18 to bag the men’s crown at the P John Memorial all-India volleyball tournament, at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium on Sunday.

Published: 13th March 2017 03:44 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th March 2017 03:44 AM   |  A+A-

The SRM University men’s volleyball contingent pose with the Dr Sivanthi Gold Cup

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: SRM Univeristy blanked ONGC (Dehradun) 25-18, 26-24, 25-18 to bag the men’s crown at the P John Memorial all-India volleyball tournament, at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium on Sunday.
SRM beat ICF (Chennai) in the semifinals to enter the summit clash, while ONGC overcame IOB (Chennai) to do the same. The latter won the third-place playoff.

The winners received the Dr Sivanthi Gold Cup and Rs 1 lakh, while the runners-up got the NMDC Trophy and `75,000. Harsh Prakash (IRS and Principal Commissioner of Income Tax, Chennai) gave away the prizes.

Results (Men): 3rd place: IOB (Chennai) bt ICF (Chennai) 21-25, 30-28, 25-22, 18-25, 15-11. Semifinals: SRM bt ICF (Chennai) 25-19, 18-25, 25-19, 25-12; ONGC (Dehradun) bt IOB (Chennai) 23-25, 25-21, 25-23, 25-17,15-10.Special Awards: Best setter: A Muthusamy (SRM). Best blocker: GR Vaishnav (IOB). Best attacker: Vinith Kumar (ONGC (Dehradun)). Best universal: Jerome (SRM). Best Libero: P Prabhakaran (ICF (Chennai)).

Niranjan scalps five
V Niranjan’s 5/16 helped Thiruvallur beat King Star by eight wickets in the Thiruvallur DCA U-12 inter-academy cricket tournament quarterfinals. He found an able ally in the form of Karan Gupta, who ended his day at the office with the figures of 3/9.

In other matches held on the same day, Annai Violet suffered a seven-wicket loss at the hands of Velammal New Gen. SD Dharrshan’s 45 helped the latter cross the finish line. K Sanjay’s 4/7  reduced Evergreen to 76 in just 23.1 overs, helping Savya Sachi coast to a ten-wicket triumph.  
Brief scores (quarterfinals): King Star CA 90 in 23.2 ovs (V Niranjan 5/16, Karan Gupta 3/9) lost to Thiruvallur DCA 92/2 in 13.1 ovs; Annai Violet CA 91/6 in 25 ovs lost to Velammal New Gen CA 92/3 in 16.3 ovs (SD Dharrshan 45); BSCA 134/6 in 25 ovs (J Aravind Krishnan 49 n.o) lost to MGCA 135/4 in 23.3 ovs (Ashwin Aadhithya 41); Evergreen CA 76 in 23.1 ovs (K Sanjay 4/7) lost to Savya Sachi CA 78/0 in 12.4 ovs.

SAI win
SAI beat AG’s Office 3-2 in a league round match of the Indian Bank state-level invitation hockey tournament held at Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium. ICF edged out TN Police 4-3.

Results: SAI 3 (Parthiban 1, Vinidhan 1, Saravanakumar 1) bt AG’s Office 2 (P Dhamu 2); ICF 4 (Bejiu 1, Surya 1, Dinesh1, Deepak 1) bt TN Police 3 (Kanthaguru 1, Gokul 1, David 1).

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp