Mukunth-Washington stand takes Trotters to big victory

Centuries by opener K Mukunth (118, 119b, 13x4) and Washington Sundar (152, 125b, 12x4, 7x6) helped Globe Trotters beat Grand Slam by 132 runs and storm into the semifinals of the 12th VA Parthasarath

Published: 24th May 2017 05:39 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th May 2017 05:39 AM   |  A+A-

Winners at the SDAT-ISPA summer camp, an initiative by former athlete R Natarajan

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: Centuries by opener K Mukunth (118, 119b, 13x4) and Washington Sundar (152, 125b, 12x4, 7x6) helped Globe Trotters beat Grand Slam by 132 runs and storm into the semifinals of the 12th VA Parthasarathy Memorial Trophy, organised by TNCA, on Tuesday.

Mukunth and Washington added 275 in 238 balls after coming together at zero for one. CromBest, India Pistons and Jolly Rovers are the other teams to have reached the semifinals. CromBest beat UFCC-India Cements by  53 runs. PS Shiva Ramakrishnan hogged the limelight with 163 runs to help CromBest post 277. In reply, the chasing side were dismissed for 224. S Swaminathan took a fifer (5/42) for the winners.
At IC-Guru Nanak: CromBest-Kalpathi Investments 277/8 in 50 ovs (PS Shiva Ramakrishnan 163, S Swaminathan 59, P Amarnath 4/72) bt UFCC-India Cements (T Nagar) 224/45 ovs (R Sathyanarayan 53, S Swaminathan 5/42, R Vishaal 3/24).
At MRF-Pachaiyappa’s: Globe Trotters-MRF 341/7 in 50 ovs (K Mukunth 118, Washington Sundar 152, M Raja 5/71) bt Grand Slam-India Cements 209 in 40.4 ovs (V Maaruthi Raghav 67, Sunil Sam 4/52, Monish Satish 3/31).

At CPT-IP: Vijay-India Cements 264/7 in 50 ovs (R Rohith 44 no, B Indrajith 62, R Prasanna 56, M Prabhu 3/38) lost to India Pistons 268/5 in 47.4 ovs (Jiwanjot Singh 119, GV Vignesh 72, L Vignesh 3/35).
At SSN: Young Stars-Kalpathi Investments 269/7 in 50 ovs (R Arun Balaji  47, R Nilesh Subramanian 49, Prasanth Parameswaran 3/47) lost to Jolly Rovers-Sanmar 272/7in 49.5 ovs (B Anirudh Sita Ram 86, Ankeet Bawane 83 no).

SRM University champ
SRM University, despite losing their final league game 0-3 to Indian Bank, bagged the overall title in the 49th state-level volleyball tournament for the Texmo Cup in Coimbatore.
Results: Customs bt Aquapump 25-20, 22-25, 25-28, 25-20; Indian Bank bt SRM University 26-24, 26-24, 25-23.
Placings: SRM University (first), Customs (second), Income Tax (third), Indian Bank (fourth), Aquapump Sports Club (fifth).

Athletics summer camp
Former international athlete R Natarajan’s ISPA summer camp got good response, with children in various age groups taking part enthusiastically, despite the heatwave in the city. At the valedictory function, promising athletes were feted. Santhosh Kumar, Commissioner of Customs, Chennai, gave away prizes.
Award winners: At IIT camp: Youngest performer: Catherene Kirthi. Below 10 years: Eashwar, Diya. 10-12: Karshan, Charumathy. 12-14: Balaganesh, Shravana. 14-16: Aravind Akash, Shivani. 16-19: Arulnidhi, Devapriya. At SDAT camp: Youngest performer: Merziah (5 years). 8-10: Vijay, Rakshitha. 10-12: Senthil Rathnam, Jayashree. 12-14: Milano Ivers, Malarviahi. 14-16: K Alagappan,  Vasupradha. 16-18: Vadivel. Above 18: Suriya, Akshaya.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp