SRM University spikers make winning return

SRM University defeated Tamil Nadu Police 3-0 in the men’s final of the P John Memorial 45th all-India volleyball tournament

Published: 03rd April 2018 01:49 AM  |   Last Updated: 03rd April 2018 03:16 AM   |  A+A-

SRM University, winners of the P John Memorial volleyball tournament

By Express News Service

CHENNAI : SRM University defeated Tamil Nadu Police 3-0 in the men’s final of the P John Memorial 45th all-India volleyball tournament.Final: SRM University bt Tamil Nadu Police 25-17, 25-18, 25-15. Third place: Karnataka bt ICF 25-19, 25-17, 25-17. Awards: Best Blocker: Bharath (Karnataka). Best Attacker: Saminathan (TN Police). Best Setter: Hariharan (SRM). Best Universal: Angamuthu (ICF, Chennai). Best Libero: B Midhun Kumar (St.Joseph’s CoE, Chennai).

Yudeesh shines
Yudeeshwaran’s 4 for 9 helped Guru Nanak Stars beat Pondicherry University by seven wickets in the 4th edition of Pavit Singh Nayar Memorial inter-collegiate T-20 cricket tournament. India cricketer and CSK player Harbhajan Singh inaugurated the tournament. In another match, Bishop Heber College got the better of AM Jain College by 45 runs.Brief scores: Pondicherry University 85/7 in 20 ovs (Ravishankar 37 n.o; Yudeeshwaran 4/9) lost to Guru Nanak Stars 86/3 in 13 ovs (Adithya Raghuraman 32 n.o). Bishop Heber College 128/4 in 20 ovs (Edwin Richard 34) bt  AM Jain College 83 in 15.2 ovs.

Loyola win
Loyola College defeated Vel’s University 108-43 in their first league match at the second all-India inter-collegiate basketball tournament for Jeppiaar Trophy.Results: Loyola 108 bt Vels University 43; MCC 103 bt MLR Institute, Hyderabad 61.

Dhyan moves to semis
Dhyan from Cue Zone thrashed Zakir of MSBA 4-1 in the quarterfinals of the MSBA non-ranking 6 Red snooker tournament. In another match, Smart Shooters’ Khader blanked Salman Basha of MSBA 4-0.
Quarterfinals: Khader (Smart Shooters) bt Salman Basha (MSBA) 4-0; Mustaq (Q Trickz) bt Hameed (Pot Black) 4-0; Dhyan (Cue Zone) bt Zakir (MSBA) 4-1; Aashish (Q Lounge) bt Deepan (CueZone) 4-2. Pre-quarterfinals: Dhyan (Cue Zone) bt Mohan (Smart Shooters) 4-3; Zakir (MSBA) bt Abdullah (MSBA) 4-3; Deepan (Cue Zone) bt Vicky (Pot Black) 4-1; Aashish (Q Lounge) bt Aadhesh (Q Lounge) 4-1; Khader (Smart Shooters) bt Vikarm (Snook City) 4-1; Salman Basha (MSBA) bt Salim (BG Snook Zone) 4-1; Mustaq (Q Trickz) bt Shoaib (Q Lounge) 4-0; Hameed (Pot Black) bt Sriram (Smart Shooters) 4-2.

Emmanwel nets two 
Emmanwel’s brace helped Arrows FC defeat Southern Railway 2-0 in the CFA Senior Division League at ICF.Results: Arrows FC 2 (Emmanwel 11’, 24’) bt Southern Railway 0.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp