Former skipper Sardar Singh among 55 players named for men's national camp

The list features all the 18 players who were part of the Indian men's team that returned from the Commonwealth Games without a medal after finishing fourth.

Published: 26th April 2018 02:26 PM  |   Last Updated: 26th April 2018 02:26 PM   |  A+A-

Indian hockey star Sardar Singh (File | AP)


BENGALURU: Former skipper Sardar Singh was today named in the 55-member probable list announced by Hockey India for the men's national camp starting at the Sports Authority of India campus here tomorrow.

Sardar, who was dropped from the 18-member Indian hockey squad led by Manpreet Singh for the Commonwealth Games, has been included in the probable list which will be pruned down to 48 after the camp concludes on May 18.

The list features all the 18 players who were part of the Indian men's team that returned from the Commonwealth Games without a medal after finishing fourth, following a 1-2 loss to England in the bronze medal playoff.

Forward Ramandeep Singh, defenders Surender Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Dipsan Tirkey and Nilam Sanjeep Xess also feature in the list of 55, which also includes players from the domestic circuit who showcased outstanding performance at the Senior National Championship (A and B Division).

"The result from CWG is not what we expected but the lessons from there will be used for future preparations. The team and the coaching staff is confident of the playing structure and we all know that we have to improve on certain areas," said Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne.

From Senior Men's A division, Vikas Dahiya, Jarmanpreet Singh and Gurjinder Singh of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) who finished runners-up have been called up while Amit Gowda, Pardeep Singh of Railway Sports Promotion Board who beat Air India Sports Promotion Board in the Bronze Medal match have made the Core probable list.

Anand Lakra of Services Sports Control Board (SSCB), Raj Kumar Pal, Mohd Raheel of Air India Sports Promotion Board and Maninderjeet Singh of Punjab & Sind Bank, V Veerthamizhan of Association of Indian Universities also made it to the list.

Somjeet from Hockey Haryana, Amon Mirash Tirkey of Hockey Gangpur – Odisha, Abharan Sudev of Hockey Karnataka, Ajay Yadav of Uttar Pradesh Hockey, Dharminder Singh of Hockey Punjab who won the National title this year, have also been rewarded for their performance.

From Senior Men's B Division, Pardeep Mor, Sukhjeet Singh, Gagandeep Singh (Sr) of Punjab National Bank have been included along with goalkeeper Jagdeep Dayal of runners-up team Canara Bank.

Sumit Kumar and Pravakar Minz of Sports Authority of India, Abhilash Stalin C of Hockey Bengaluru, Karthik Yadav of Chhattisgarh Hockey, Harish Mutagar of Hockey Coorg have also made the cut.

National Campers List:

Goalkeepers: P.R.Sreejesh, Suraj Karkera, Krishan B Pathak, Vikas Dahiya, Jagdeep Dayal.

Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Gurinder Singh, Kothajit Singh, Varun Kumar, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Birendra Lakra, Dipsan Tirkey, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Jarmanpreet Singh, Gurjinder Singh, Amit Gowda, Pardeep Mor, Anand Lakra.

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Sumit, Simranjeet Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Lalit Upadhyay, Sardar Singh, Hardik Singh, Manpreet (Jr.), Somjeet, Raj Kumar Pal, Amon Mirash Tirkey, Dharminder Singh, V.Veerthamizhan.

Forwards: Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Ramandeep Singh, SV Sunil, Dilpreet Singh, Sumit Kumar, Mohd.Umar, Abharan Sudev, Mohd.Raheel, Pardeep Singh, Ajay Yadav, Armaan Qureshi, Sukhjeet Singh, Gagandeep Singh (Sr.), Harish Mutagar, Abhilash Stalin C, Kartik Yadav, Pravakar Minz, Maninderjeet Singh.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp