Ijaz moves into semis in jr squash  

In the girls' Under-15 quarterfinals, Anahat Singh of Delhi lived up to her top billing by beating Yashi Jain of Rajasthan in straight sets (11-0, 11-1, 11-2).

Published: 18th November 2021 03:58 AM  |   Last Updated: 18th November 2021 11:40 AM   |  A+A-


For representational purposes (File | AP)

By Express News Service

CHENNAI:  Unseeded Ijaz, a trainee of the Indian Squash and Triathlon Academy, stormed into the semifinals of the boys' Under-13 event by defeating statemate Lokesh S 10-12, 4-11, 11-7, 11-3, 11-9 in the ISTA Junior Open here on Wednesday. In the girls' Under-15 quarterfinals, Anahat Singh of Delhi lived up to her top billing by beating Yashi Jain of Rajasthan in straight sets (11-0, 11-1, 11-2).

Results: (all quarterfinals): Boys: U-13: Aryaveer Dewan (DL) bt Shrrinith Subramanian (TN) 11-3, 12-10, 11-5; Ijaz Mohammed (TN) bt Lokesh S (TN) 10-12, 4-11, 11-7, 11-3, 11-9; Agastya Bansal (MH) bt Varun Shah (MH) 11-4, 11-5, 9-11, 11-7; Darshil Parasrampuria (TN) bt Shiven Agarwal (TN) 9-11, 8-11, 11-0, 11-8, 11-5. U-15: Arihant KS (TN) bt  Arjun Ramdas (KA) 11-3, 11-5, 11-3; Udit Mishra (RJ) bt Rahul Sanjay Balakrishnan (KA) 12-10, 11-9, 7-11, 11-9; Abhiraj Singh (UP) bt Ekambir Singh (MH) 11-8, 11-7, 12-14, 11-5; Priyaan Thakker (MH) bt   Teerth Jilka (MH) 11-6, 11-8, 11-2. U-17: Krishna Mishra (MP) bt Meyyappan L (TN) 11-5 11-8 11-3; Arush Chatterjee (DL) bt Ashvin Ganesh (TN) 2-11, 12-10, 11-4, 9-11, 14-12; Shaurya Bawa (DL) bt Sharan Punjabi (MH) 14-12, 11-9, 11-9; Rohan Arya Gondi (TL) bt Adith Achpal (TN) 11-4, 11-8, 11-7. U-19: Kanhav Nanavati (TN) bt Siddharth A (KL) 11-1, 11-2, 11-1; Adhil Mohammed Syed (TN) bt Alfeen Nazreth (KL) 5-11, 11-9, 11-2, 11-4; Mohit Bhatt (MH) bt Dhruv Kumar Gangashetty (TL) 11-3, 11-2, 11-1. Girls: U-13: Vyomika Khandelwal (MH) bt Sangamithra Shanmugam (TN) 11-7, 12-10, 11-6; Yaavnaa Saravanakumar (TN) bt Aarika Mishra (MH) 11-3, 11-6, 7-11, 11-13, 11-6; Diva Shah (MH) bt Aishni Pathak (MP)11-4, 3-11, 11-4, 11-6;  Kriya Saravanan (TN) bt Sahana Kalaivanan (TN) 12-10, 13-15, 6-11, 11-9 ,11-8. U-15: Anahat Singh (DL) bt Yashi Jain (RJ) 11-0, 11-1, 11-2; Ananya Narayanan (TN) bt Shristi Thakur (KA) 11-2, 11-4, 11-5; Navya Sundararajan (UP) bt Sreya BS ( KL) 12-10, 11-1, 11-3.

Varun bags title
J Varun Kumar of MCC defeated Vijay Nichani of CDBSA 44-56, 75-21, 65-51, 46-67, 47-58, 60-20, 81-6, 29-54, 79-7 in the senior snooker final at the 37th state snooker and billiards championships held at TNBSA. Daksh Reddy blanked Loganathan 2-0 to secure the third place. Varun Kumar was awarded the TV Gupta memorial rolling trophy for snooker.



Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp