Samarth and Vihaan clinch doubles title

The pair of Vihaan Reddy and Samarth Sahita defeated the duo of Arjun Panditr and Rishi Vandhan Sadeeshkumar 7-6 (6),

Published: 01st April 2023 09:55 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st April 2023 09:55 AM   |  A+A-

Tennis racket

Image used for representational purpose only. (Photo | AP)

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: The pair of Vihaan Reddy and Samarth Sahita defeated the duo of Arjun Panditr and Rishi Vandhan Sadeeshkumar 7-6 (6), 2-6, 10-8 in the boys’ doubles final of the TVS-ITF Junior Under-18 tennis championship played at Madura college, Madurai. In the girl’s singles semifinals, qualifier Sree Syleswari Velmanikandan of India got past top-seed Asmi Adkar 0-6, 6-2, 6-3 and reached her first-ever ITF Junior final. 

Results: Singles: Semifinals: Boys: Pratyaksh bt Jason David 6-4, 6-2;  Vihaan Reddy bt Aradhya Kshitij 6-3, 6-3. Girls: Sree Syleswari Velmanikandan bt Asmi Adkar  0-6, 6-2, 6-3; Amodini Naik bt Saily Prashantkumar Thakkar  6-2 ,6-2. Doubles: Final: Boys: Vihaan Reddy/Samarth Sahita bt Arjun Panditr/Rishi Vandhan Sadeeshkumar 7-6 (6), 2-6, 10-8. Girls: Snigdha Kanta/Saily Prashantkumar Thakkar bt Devanshi Gohil/Shagun Kumari 6-3, 6-2.

Parasaran misses ton
RV Parasaran’s 97 came in handy for GE T&D India Sports and Recreation Club to beat Youngsters Cricket Club by 122 runs in a Fourth Division ‘B ‘ Zone league match of the TNCA. B Ashwin (51) and MV Jeyamariyappan (67) also scored a half-century each for the winners. Brief scores: IV Division ‘B’: GE T&D India Sports and Recreation Club 275/8 in 50 ovs (RV Parasaran 97, B Ashwin 51, MV Jeyamariyappan 67, R Abishek 4/69) bt Youngsters Cricket Club 153 in 40.1 ovs (R Abishek 40). Young Men’s Association 210/9 in 50 ovs (L Gunasekar 59, C Thivakar 4/40) lost to Garnet Cricket Club 215/7 in 49 ovs (R Naveen Kumar 88, C Karthick Kumar 74 n.o., Hardik R Davey 3/56). Venkat Cricket Club 244 in 50 ovs (SiddarthPrakash 104, S Karthik 4/57) bt Comrades Cricket Club 235/7 in 50 ovs (S Prithivraj 62, V Geethainathan 50, J Bharani Dharan 36, R Dinesh 3/53). Rising Stars Cricket Club 173 in 42 ovs (S Prabhu 66) bt  Madras United Club 156 in 36.5 ovs (M Prem Kumar 31, T Shikeeshwar 4/38, TT Kishore 3/47). Bharath Petroleum Corporation Club 170 in 39 ovs (U Raj Kumar 37, R Martin Anburaj 34, R Siva Sabhapathy 3/51, RG Barat Raj 3/41) lost to Indian Oil Sports and Recreation Club 171/4 in 39 ovs (SD Suresh Kumar 77 n.o., I Dharunesh 31).



Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp