Ban on Maoists extended

Published: 09th August 2013 09:07 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th August 2013 09:07 AM   |  A+A-

The State government extended the ban on CPI (Maoist) and its affiliated organisations for another one year from August 17.

Separate GOs were issued on Thursday extending the ban on CPI (Maoist) and its affiliated organisations under the Andhra Pradesh Public Security Act, 1992. The government declared that the CPI (Maoist) and other organisations were “unlawful”.

The government imposed ban on the Maoists and others on August 17, 2005 and has been extending the ban every year.

The banned front organisations of the Maoists are: All India Revolutionary Students Federation (AIRSF), Viplava Karmika Samakhya (VIKASA), Singareni Karmika Samakhya (SIKASA), Radical Students Union (RSU), Rythu Coolie Sangham (RCS) and Radical Youth League (RYL).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp