Panchayat elections in flood hit villages postponed to July 31

Published: 22nd July 2013 12:44 PM  |   Last Updated: 22nd July 2013 12:44 PM   |  A+A-

The State Election Commission has postponed the panchayat elections in flood-affected villages in Adilabad, East Godavari, Karimnagar, Khammam, Nizamabad and Warangal districts, and will hold them in the third phase on July 31.

The decision was taken basing on the situation reports sent by the collectors of the respective districts, in which they  sought rescheduling of poll process and subsequent election process in the flood- affected gram panchayats. Rule 7 of the AP Panchayat Raj (conduct of elections) Act empowers the State Election Commission to alter the election programme .

Exercising the power conferred under Article 243K of the Constitution, Sec 200 of AP Panchayat Raj Act, the commission has alerted the the elections in the flood- affected villages and the election for those villages will be held in the third phase, that is on July 31.

Counting and declaration of the results will also take place on the same day. In case the election for the upa-sarpanch is not held on that day, it will be held on the following day. The villages where the elections have been rescheduled for the third phase are:

Adilabad: Ginnera, Dhodanda and Waipet in Indervally mandal; Gudamamda and Addessara in Jainoor mandal; Karanjiwada in Kerameri mandal _ all in Utnoor revenue division.

All villages in Kagaznagar, Dahegaon, Bheemini, Sirpur (T), Bejjur and Klutala mandals _ all in Asifabad division.

Pothapally in Luxettipet mandal; Namnoor and Padthanpally in Mancherial mandal, all in Vemanaplly and Kotepally mandals _ all in Mancherial division.

Khandala, Kumbejhari, Yapalguda and Ramai in Adilabad mandal; Sangidi, Bedoda, Guda, Dahegao, Kobbai and Sangvi in Bela mandal; Palsi-B in Talamadugu mandal; Kamai and Sangvi-K in Jainath mandal; Nippani, Bheempur, Karanji, Arli-T, Pippalakoti, Tamsi-K of Tamsi and Neradigonda-G in Ichoda mandal; Girnoor, Pipri, Warthamannur in Bazahathnoor mandal; Babera and Karathwada in Boath mandal _ all in Adilabad revenue division.

East Godavari: Kondamodalu, Tunnuru, Chinaramanayyapeta and Manturu in Devipatnam mandal; and Pathakota and Kianivada in Y Ramavaram mandal _ all in Ramachodavaram revenue division.

Karimnagar: Peddampet, Lenkalagadda, Pallemmala, Pankenda and Sarvaipet in Mahadevpur mandal in Manthani revenue division.

Khammam: All villages in all mandals of Bhadrachalam revenue divsion where elections were notified.

Nizamabad: Dongao in Jukkal mandal; and Takkadapally (B) in Bichkunda mandal in Bodhan revenue division.

Warangal: Ailapur, Kondai and Chelpaka in Eturunagaram mandal; and Sarwapur in Mulugu mandal _ all in Mulugu division.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp