Poll in 13 villages on August 13

Polls countermanded earlier due candidates’ deaths or snatching of nomination papers.

Published: 30th July 2013 10:53 AM  |   Last Updated: 30th July 2013 10:53 AM   |  A+A-

Elections in seven villages, where polling was countermanded due to the death of contesting candidates, and in six villages where the election process was interrupted due to snatching  of nomination papers by extremists will be held on August 13.

The election in the 14th ward in Ganganapally in Kakinada Rural mandal, 10th ward in Billkuru in Kothapeta mandal in East Godavari districts, 3rd ward in Palyam in Pamidi mandal in Anantapur district, 6th ward in Buddaram in Gopaipet mandal in Mahabubnagar district, 1st ward in Laxmipur in Bejjanki mandal in Karimnagar district, sarpanch and 4th ward in Katiperi in Chowdepalle mandal in Chittoor district, 5th ward in NRP Agraharam in Undi mandal in West Godavari district, where contesting candidates have died, will be held on August 13.

In the villages of Boithili, Killmkota, Beeram, Nurmathi of G Madugula, Jaiguda, Ginnelakota of Pedabayalu mandal of Visakhapatnam district for sarpanch and ward posts will be held on August 13, as the election process was interrupted due to snatching away of nomination papers by extremists.

Nominations for the elections in the said village can be filed from July 30 and the last day for filling of dominations is August 3 (up to 5 pm). Scrutiny of nominations will be on August 4. One can appeal before revenue divisional officer against the rejection of nominations on August 5 and, on the subsequent day, the RDO will dispose of the appeals. The final list of the contesting candidates will be released on August 7. Polling will be held on August 13, and counting and declaration of results too will be on the same day.

At five places, where the elections were postponed due to errors committed by returning officers (phase 1) and the incidents of booth capturing and electoral malpractice took place, re-polling will be held on August 3.

The election got stalled for the 7th ward of Kodapur in Chandur mandal of Nalgonda district, for the post of sarpanch of Madaguda in Kothaguda mandal and for the third ward in Seerole in Kuravi mandal in Warangal district, and the 6th and 9th wards of Sublaid in Tirumalayapalem mandal in Khammam district due to erroneous list of contesting candidates.

The elections for both sarpanch and ward members in T Kammapalli village of Pullampet mandal in Kadapa district got postponed due to booth-capturing and rigging.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp