One MP, three legislators from Seemandhra resign

Published: 31st July 2013 08:43 AM  |   Last Updated: 31st July 2013 08:43 AM   |  A+A-


Unhappy over Congress party's decision to carve out separate Telangana state, an MP and three legislators from Rayalaseema and Andhra regions Tuesday night resigned.

Congress MP from Guntur Rayapati Sambasiva Rao has resigned both from the party and the Lok Sabha. Rao, who is visiting the US, faxed his resignation to Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar and Congress president Sonia Gandhi.

Congress legislator P. Satish Kumar, who represents Mummidivaram constituency in East Godavari district, also sent his resignation to assembly speaker N. Manohar.

Thota Trimurthulu also of Congress from Ramchandrapuram constituency in East Godavari district has also resigned.

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) legislator from Anantapur, P. Abdul Gani also announced his resignation.

Tulsi Reddy, chairman, 20 point programme committee, was the first to announce his resignation after CWC decision was announced by central leaders Ajay Maken and Digvijaya Singh. He faxed his resignation to state Congress chief Botsa Satyanarayana.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp