MP Jayadev Elected AP Olympic Assistant President

Published: 05th April 2015 05:59 AM  |   Last Updated: 05th April 2015 07:44 AM   |  A+A-

TIRUPATI:Guntur MP Galla Jayadev was elected president of the Andhra Pradesh Olympic Association (APOA) unanimously, on Saturday.

TDP leader KE Prabhakar was elected chairman and RK Purushotham general secretary.

Following state bifurcation, the AP Olympic Association also split. The association general body met here on Saturday and elected the office-bearers unanimously in the presence of two observers--one each from SAAP (Sports Authority of Andhra Pradesh) and Indian Olympic Association (IOA) M Ravindrababu and K Murugan respectively. GV Subbaiah acted as the returning officer.

Apart from the president, chairman and general secretary, four vice-presidents, one treasurer and 15 executive members were elected to the association.

Speaking to mediapersons after election, Jayadev said the APOA will give priority to improving sports infrastructure in the new state.

“Though India is excelling to some extent in Olympic games in recent times, we are still far away from China. So, we have to improve sports skills among students and our committee will try to identify the talent at the grassroots level,” he said.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp