Chadalawada-headed TTD Board Comes with a Few Surprises

No prominent leader from BJP figures in the list; Venkaiah’s aides fail to make it to the 18-member committee

Published: 28th April 2015 06:01 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th April 2015 06:01 AM   |  A+A-

HYDERABAD:  Appointment of Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams (TTD) Trust Board members on Monday threw up a few ast-minute surprises though TDP senior leader and former MLA Chadalawada Krishnamurthy’s nomination as the Board chairman came on the expected lines.

After months of dillydallying, the AP government on Monday issued a GO constituting the TTD Trust Board, whose tenure is for one year.

Raising eyebrows in political circles, no prominent BJP leader from AP or Telangana figured in the 18-member list of the Trust Board which is an independent body that oversees the operations and finances of the richest religious centre in the world.

BJP Telangana MLA Chintala Ramachandra Reddy (Khairatabad) and BJP local leader in Tirupati G Bhanuprakash Reddy, a close aide of Union Minister M Venkaiah Naidu -- the two names that had been doing the rounds as the front runners failed to make it to the final list.

Chadalawada.JPGIn fact, on April 11, the day when Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu left for a China visit, State Endowments Minister and BJP leader P Manikyala Rao had reportedly conveyed to Ramachandra Reddy that his name was included in the final list of the TTD Trust Board. But much to the surprise of the BJP cadres, Reddy’s name is missing from the list and so is the name of Nitu Ambani, wife of billionaire industrialist Mukesh Ambani.

Five TDP MLAs, Kolla Lalita Kumari (Srungavarapukota), Pilli Ananta Lakshmi (Kakinada Rural) and Dola Sreebala Veeranjaneya Swamy (Kondapi) from AP and Sandra Venkata Veeraiah (Sattupalli) and G Sayanna (Secunderabad Cantonment) from Telangana have been nominated to the board.

As expected, Tollywood veteran director K Raghavendra Rao has been made a Trust Board member.

TTD Executive Officer D Sambasiva Rao, Principal Secretary (Endowments) JSV Prasad and Endowments Commissioner YV Anuradha are the ex-officio members of the board.

1 More Member Likely

Sources said the State government is planning to bring an ordinance to add one more member to the TTD Board to accommodate a BJP leader either from AP or TS. The Cabinet meet on May 4 is likely to consider this issue. TTD Board members have been increased to 18 from 15 recently.

Rajnath, Pawan Have Their Say

Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu inducted some members from other States into the board as per the recommendations of Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Water Resources Minister Uma Bharti, according to sources. The name of DP Anantha is said to be suggested by Rajnath. Sources said P Hariprasad, a close aide of Jana Sena chief Pawan Kalyan, is learnt to have been appointed on the latter’s suggestion.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp