TDP Firm on Action Against 9 YSRC MLAs

Published: 26th March 2015 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th March 2015 02:58 AM   |  A+A-

HYDERABAD: Even as the YSRC reportedly expressed its willingness for a compromise formula over cracking the whip on nine of its MLAs for making improper comments against Speaker Kodela Siva Prasada Rao, the ruling TDP is still considering the option of initiating strong disciplinary action against the YSRC members.

Sources said chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu is firm on suspending these nine members from the House at least for a period of six months to one year.

During the TDLP meeting held here on Wednesday chaired by Naidu, labour minister K Atchannaidu reportedly told the chief minister that the YSRC members were sending proposals that they would withdraw the no-trust motion against the Speaker in lieu of sparing their party’s nine MLAs from disciplinary action.

But, according to sources, Naidu rejected this proposal and told his partymen that the government should initiate action against the YSRC members for making derogatory remarks against the Speaker. Earlier in the day, TDP member Vangalapudi Anitha moved a privilege motion against the nine YSRC members ‘for showing disrespect towards the Speaker and using derogatory language against him”.

Privilege notice was served against Gadikota Srikanth Reddy, Chevireddy Bhaskar Reddy, Kodali Sri Venkateswara Rao alias Nani, Anil Kumar Yadav, K Sridhar Reddy, R Siva Prasad Reddy, Pinneli Rama Krishna Reddy, B Muthyala Naidu and RK Roja. Protesting against the move YSRC members trooped into the well and demanded that the Speaker allow their leader YS Jagan Mohan Reddy to speak. Initially, the Speaker refused but later allowed Jagan to speak.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp