'One MP-One Idea' Winners Lauded

Published: 30th September 2015 06:03 AM  |   Last Updated: 30th September 2015 06:03 AM   |  A+A-


VISAKHAPATNAM : Crowd sourcing is becoming the best practice in finding out solutions to day-to-day problems and conducting ‘One MP-One Idea’ competition is the best way to find cost-effective solutions to civic issues, said Union minister for Urban Development M Venkaiah Naidu. He stated that the country was on the verge of embarking on a path-breaking effort for creating a vibrant urban India and it can be achieved only with the participation of all stakeholders, including public.

Addressing the felicitation function for winners of ‘One MP-One Idea’ competition here Tuesday, Venkaiah Naidu stated that the Centre would be spending crores of rupees on the urban missions in the next four years where the government was keen on evolving a public private partnership model to finance and successfully run these schemes. “Contests like One MP-One Idea help us find alternative solutions to day-to-day problems and critical ones ranging from education and skills to water and sanitation, health to housing and infrastructure, agriculture and energy,” he added.

Venkaiah said that Vizag had cleared the first stage of Smart City Challenge and was gearing up for the second phase of the competition. He stated that major national and international stakeholders would be involved in the project with an investment of `48,000 crore. Simultaneously, over 500 cities in the country had been slated for urban renewal which includes upgradation of facilities, especially the drainage and sanitation facilities and infrastructure in these parts. Approximately 400 cities had already been identified under the AMRUT scheme.

Venkaiah Naidu appreciated the winners of the ‘One MP-One Idea’ contest in Vizag, for suggesting innovative solutions to the problems at the grassroots level. A selection committee headed by the district collector and comprising eight members from various walks of life scrutinised the entries and selected top three for grant of cash awards of `2.5 lakh, `1.5 lakh and `1 lakh respectively.

 The winners

■ Saraswathi, Jagadish and Rajdeep Paul under Food and Agriculture

■ Ch Sri Matha, Prasad, and Sourab under Health

■ Ravi and Gupteswar Rao under Education sector.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp