Bizman accused in Delhi liquor scam among 24 TTD Board members?

He was arrested in November last year and released on bail. He turned approver in June this year. 

Published: 26th August 2023 10:45 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th August 2023 10:45 AM   |  A+A-

alcohol, prohibition, liquor

Image used for representation.

By Express News Service

VIJAYAWADA:  The State government has reportedly appointed 24 people to the Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams (TTD) Trust Board on Friday. 

One of the controversial names that have reportedly made it to the Board, which governs the world’s richest Hindu temple, is the director of Aurobindo Pharma Penaka Sarath Chandra Reddy. The Hyderabad-based businessman was named as an accused in the Delhi liquor scam. The Enforcement Directorate had reportedly found Sarath Chandra to be the mastermind behind the ‘South Group’ that obtained retail liquor business in the national capital. 

He was arrested in November last year and released on bail. He turned approver in June this year. 
Appointing Sarath Chandra Reddy to the TTD Board is likely to kick up a storm.

After considering various caste and regional equations, and the recommendations from other State governments, the names of 24 people, including representatives from Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Gujarat were finalised. An order to this effect is yet to be issued. 

Thippeswamy, Satish  & Samineni find place 

It may be noted that Tirupati MLA Bhumana Karunakara Reddy was recently appointed as the chairman on the Srivari Temple Trust Board. From the MLA quota, Samineni Udaya Bhanu (Jaggaiahapet), Ponnada Venkata Satish Kumar (Mummidivaram) and M Thippeswamy (Madakasira) have been chosen. 
Meanwhile, the government has reportedly appointed Nayee Brahmin Corporation president Siddavatam Yanadaiah as a member. 

R Venkata Subba Reddy, popularly known as Maa Seema Babu, another leader from Kadapa district who led several agitations for rendering justice to Rayalaseema region also made it to the Board. He is closely associated with the YS family and was appointed to the TTD Board in 2021, but had to be removed after the issue of the jumbo Board went to court.

Former Mandal Parishad President (MPP) of Mantralayam in Kurnool district, Y Seetharami Reddy has also been appointed to the Board. The 65-year-old has been an active politician for the past four decades and is currently the president of the APSRTC Employees’ Union of Yammiganur depot. 

While Chande Ashwartha Naik from Anantapur was chosen, former minister Sidda Raghava Rao’s son Veera Venkata Sudheer Kumar from Prakasam district also made it into the Board.

Other members include Amol Kale and Milind Keshav Narvekar from Maharashtra, RV Deshpande from Karnataka, and Balasubraminam Palani Swamy and Keshan Moorthy Vaidhyanatham from Tamil Nadu. 
 Seetha Reddy, wife of Chevella MP G Ranjith Reddy from Telangana, has also been appointed, sources said.

Follow The New Indian Express channel on WhatsApp


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp