‘Fete for inspiration from forefathers’

Published: 18th June 2012 09:55 AM  |   Last Updated: 18th June 2012 09:55 AM   |  A+A-

The Diamond Jubilee celebrations of the state Legislature is being organised to seek inspiration from our forefathers and march ahead to serve democratic society, said Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister S Suresh Kumar.

He was responding to a query from Express on whether the event would help restore the glory and dignity of the House. The first Assembly of the state Legislature - a 99-member house - functioned at the Attara Kacheri, which now houses the Karnataka High Court

It has to its credit enacting of breakthrough legislations, including nationalisation of the Kolar Gold Mines, State Reorganistion Bill and Abolition of Inam payments in the state.

The Congress, which had a presence of 75 members in the 99-member house, faced political instability before completion of its term when Chief Minister Kengal Hanumanthaiah resigned and move to Union government at the instance of then prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru.

Speaker Sidhaiah was elected after renowned Socialist leader Shanthaveri Gopala Gowda entered the fray and filed his nomination for the post. Gowda was defeated.

The first ever Assembly also witnessed a change of guard to the offices of the Speaker and Chief Minister, while the former died, the latter resigned to become a Central minister.

Apart from Gopala Gowda, Congress’ Kadidal Manjappa, D Devaraj Urs, Mudalagiriyappa, V R Naidu, Sidhaveerappa were among those to get elected to the first-ever Mysore Assembly which laid the foundation to tabling of many Bills, including legislations to abolish carrying of night soil on head, renaming of Mysore state as Karnataka and nationalisation of state highways.

Five former legislators who were part of the first ever Assembly will be feted on the occasion, Suresh kumar said

While Governor H R Bharadwaj will preside over the function,former Chief Justice of India Justice M N Venkatachaliah will deliver a Keynote address

Former Speaker D B Chandre Gowda, too , will also deliver an address

The event will be attended by former Chief ministers M Veerappa Moily , Dharam Singh , H D Kumaraswamy and B S Yeddyurappa , in addition to Members of Parliament from the state


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp