SEC Order Disqualifying Congress Members Quashed

Published: 26th August 2015 04:29 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th August 2015 04:29 AM   |  A+A-

BENGALURU: The High Court on Tuesday quashed the State Election Commission’s (SEC) August 11 order disqualifying five Congress members, including the president and vice-president of Chitradurga zilla panchayat.

Justice Raghvendra S Chauhan quashed the SEC order disqualifying and barring the members from contesting polls for the next five years under the anti-defection law.

The disqualified members were ZP president Giri M Janakal, vice-president Anitha Basavaraj and members Sujatha, Mahalingappa and Parvathamma.  The members contended that the whip issued by the party on July 10, 2014, was not valid as it was issued by the general secretary instead of the president.

While electing the president and vice-president in July 2014, the members had allegedly joined hands with the BJP and JD(S), violating the whip. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp