Karnataka polls: BJP releases third list of candidates

BJP leader Gopal Rao is going to contest from Chamundeshwari, where Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is contesting from.

Published: 20th April 2018 06:24 PM  |   Last Updated: 20th April 2018 06:24 PM   |  A+A-

BJP candidate from Rajajinagar Suresh Kumar after filing nominations for the upcoming Karnataka state elections (EPS |Pushkar V)


NEW DELHI: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday released the third list of 59 candidates for the upcoming Karnataka assembly elections.

BJP leader Gopal Rao is going to contest from Chamundeshwari, the same constituency from where Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is contesting.

Valmiki Naik, a Schedule Caste candidate from BJP, is contesting from Chittapur constituency. Congress candidate Priyank Kharge, son of party leader Mallikarjun Kharge, has also filed his nomination papers from the same constituency.

The party announced 59 new names and a change of candidate in Kolar Gold Field, a reserved seat for the Schedule Caste.

The BJP had earlier declared Y Sampangi's name for the Kolar Gold Field seat but now, the party has named his daughter S Ashwini as their candidate for the seat.

On April 16, party released the second list of 82 candidates for upcoming polls and on April 9, the first list of 72 candidates was released.

Karnataka will go to polls on May 12 to elect its representatives for the 225-member assembly. The results will be out on May 15. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp