Karnataka to have all-women polling booths

The latest data available for 2018 says there are 4.96 voters, of which around 2.51 crore are men, around 2.44 crore women and 4,000 are transgenders.

Published: 18th February 2018 05:23 AM  |   Last Updated: 18th February 2018 05:23 AM   |  A+A-

Sanjeev Kumar, Chief Election Officer, Karnataka, holds the logo designed for the assembly election-2018 on Saturday | Nagaraja Gadekal

By Express News Service

BENGALURU: For the first time in Karnataka, some areas which have more number of women voters, will have a dedicated ‘all women polling station’ for the upcoming state assembly elections. Explaining the special features this year, Karnataka Chief Electoral Officer Sanjiv Kumar said, “Setting up all women polling stations will be done in some selected places on pilot basis. These polling stations will have women polling officers and women police personnel,’’ he added.

The latest data available for 2018 says there are 4.96 voters, of which around 2.51 crore are men, around 2.44 crore women and 4,000 are transgenders. However, the gender ratio for men and women has improved recently. In 2013, it was 1000: 958 which has increased to 1000: 972 now, according to the state electoral commission.

On Saturday, Sanjiv Kumar released a special logo for this year’s assembly election. The logo has special emphasis on inclusions — of women, nomads and minority voters, — making polling stations accessible to every voter including the physically challenged, and ethics — voting without fear or pressure from any party.

He said as per the directives of the Election Commission, special summary revision was undertaken from November 30, 2017. During this special revision, people applied for new inclusions, deletions and modifications of names. “We  continue to take applications for deletion, inclusion and modifications. The final roll will be printed on February 28.  We will continue taking inclusions, but for deletion, it has to get
approval from commission,’’ he said.

About the first-time voters, he said this time its a record. “In 2013, there were 7.18 lakh first-time voters and their age group was 18 to 19 years. This year, we have 15.42 lakh first-time voters,” he added.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp