BJP dashes BSY’s tour hopes, announces Jan Swaraj Yatra teams

“It’s the party’s move to go with the collective leadership , forming different teams with each consisting of half-a-dozen leaders.

Published: 07th November 2021 06:25 AM  |   Last Updated: 07th November 2021 06:25 AM   |  A+A-

CM Basavaraj Bommai and minister Dr CN Ashwath Narayan release eco-friendly diyas produced by women self-help groups in Bengaluru on Saturday 

Express News Service

BENGALURU: BJP has given charge of eight northern Karnataka districts, including Haveri, to Team 2 led by former chief minister BS Yediyurappa to organise the party through ‘Jan Swaraj Yatra’, which will be held from November 19 to 21. Team 3, led by RDPR minister KS Eshwarappa, will take care of nine districts -- Shivamogga, Udupi, Chikkamagaluru, Mangaluru, Kodagu, Mysuru, Chamarajanagar, Mandya and Hassan.

With this, BJP has once again put a lid on Yediyurappa’s ‘individual’ statewide tour which he was planning since he stepped down as chief minister in July, sources said. Party’s decision-makers claimed that since Yediyurappa’s home constituency Shivamogga and coastal region need less work, he has been given tougher ones where he can be influential. 

But the decision may evoke a mixed response among his supporters. Yediyurappa’s son and BJP state vice-president BY Vijayendra is in Team 4 led by former chief minister Jagadish Shettar and it covers mid-Karnataka districts, including Davanagere and parts of old south, excluding Mysuru and Mandya districts.  

“It’s the party’s move to go with the collective leadership , forming different teams with each consisting of half-a-dozen leaders. There is no specific message in giving charge of these teams,” said party’s spokesman Captain Ganesh Karnik. 

State party president Nalin Kumar Kateel will lead Team 1, which will include union minister Bhagwanth Khuba, ministers V Somanna, Murugesh Nirani and Araga Jnanendra among others and will cover Koppal, Ballari, Raichur, Yadagiri, Kalaburagi and Bidar.

Yediyurappa’s team will cover Uttara Kannada, Haveri, Dharwad, Gadag, Bagalkot, Vijayapura, Chikkodi and Belagavi. Shettar’s Team 4 will go across Davanagere, Chitradurga, Tumakuru, Ramanagara, Kolar, Chikkaballapura and Bengaluru Rural. The yatra will not cover Bengaluru city despite the BBMP polls on the cards. Sources said that the party is ready with the list of candidates.

India Matters


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp