Fokana literary awards

Published: 05th July 2012 12:03 PM  |   Last Updated: 05th July 2012 12:03 PM   |  A+A-

The Malayalam literary awards instituted by the Federation of Kerala Associations in North America (Fokana) have been announced.

In a statement here on Wednesday, Federation president G K Pillai said that the awards were announced by Dr Aranmula Hariharaputhran at the valedictory function of the 15th national convention of Fokana.

Chief Minister Oommen Chandy will present the awards in Thiruvananthapuram next month.

The winners are: Poetry: Dr Puthusserry Ramachandran ( Puthussery Kavithakal); critical study: Dr Ajayapuram Jyothishkumar (Kovilan - Ezhuthu - Desham - Prathinidhanam); novel: Subhash Chandran (Manushyanu Oru Aamugham); short story: John Samuel (Aakalkarusa); satire: Vithura Baby (Kinnarangalum Punnarangalum) and children’s literature: Sippy Pallippuram (Anachantham).

The award comprises a cash prize of Rs 20,000, statuette and citation


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp