Special Queue System to Come up in Sabarimala

The virtual queue system will be enhanced and plastic will not be allowed in Ayyappa Poongavanam.

Published: 14th August 2014 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th August 2014 12:36 PM   |  A+A-

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Special queue system will be put in place in Sabarimala for women, children, handicapped and senior citizens during the annual pilgrimage season.

A high-level meeting chaired by Chief Minister Oommen Chandy here on Wednesday also decided to make pilgrim-friendly arrangements for prasadam coupon distribution, Devaswom Minister V S Sivakumar said in a statement.

The virtual queue system will be enhanced and plastic will not be allowed in Ayyappa Poongavanam.

Hotels in Sabarimala, Pampa and places related to the pilgrimage will be monitored by the Food Safety authorities.

This year, more number of oxygen parlours will be set up along the trekking path.The KSRTC will run 200 new buses for the pilgrims.

Infrastructure Development

The meeting decided to open the sewage treatment plant in Sabrimala and Kanamala bridge before the start of the annual pilgrimage season.

The Sabarimala masterplan projects will be completed in a time-bound manner.

The KSEB will be provided land in Nilackal to set up a 33KV sub-station. The canal in Erumeli will be renovated at a cost of Rs 2.2 crore.The infrastructure grant to panchayats related to Sabarimala pilgrimage will be upped.

The Vandiperiyar-Spencer Junction-Sathram road will be made motorable. A parking ground with a capacity of 10,000 vehicles will be set up in Nilackal and the works on the nearby roads will be completed before the season.

An amount of Rs 1.45 crore will sanctioned for the development of the police canteens in Pampa and Sannidhanam and Rs 1.2 crore as canteen subsidy.

Ministers K M Mani, Ramesh Chennithala, Adoor Prakash, Aryadan Mohammed and V K Ebrahim Kunju, Chief Whip P C George, MLAs Sivadasan Nair, Raju Abraham, Chittayam Gopakumar, E S Bijimol and N Jayaraj, Travancore Devaswom Board president M P Govindan Nair, member Subhash Vasu and commissioner P Venugopal attended the meeting.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp