State Film Awards Distributed

Published: 27th December 2015 04:13 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th December 2015 04:13 AM   |  A+A-

KOTTAYAM: The 45th Kerala State Film Awards were distributed at an impressive star-studded function held at the police parade ground here on Saturday. Inaugurating the award distribution ceremony, Chief Minister Oommen Chandy said that the government would continue to provide all assistance for the promotion of cinema industry.

 He hailed the efforts being taken by Cinema Minister Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan for bolstering the cinema field, which is the most popular entertainment of common man.

Chandy also presented the prestigious J C Daniel Award 2014 for overall contributions to Malayalam cinema, to veteran director I V Sasi on the occasion. The award comprises a purse of `1 lakh, a statuette and citation. The city of letters welcomed the State Film Awards distribution organised by the Kerala Chalachitra Academy, with a huge turnout people, gathered at the police parade ground.

Actor Mohanlal was the chief guest at the function. Minister for Cinema Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan presided over.

 Minister for Culture K C Joseph released a book on film awards on the occasion. Minister for Panchayat and Social Welfare M K Muneer, MPs Jose K Mani, Anto Antony, MLAs C F Thomas, N Jayaraj, K Suresh Kurup, Mons Joseph, Kerala Chalachitra Academy Chairman T Rajivnath, vice chairman Joshy Mathew, M G university vice chancellor Babu Sebastian, KSFDC chairman Rajmohan Unnithan and others also spoke.

Director Jayaraj and producer K Mohanan received the the Best Feature Film for the movie Ottal. Sanalkumar Sasidharan, the director of the critically acclaimed Oralpokkam received the best director award. Actors Nivin Pauly (1983, Banaglore Days) and Sudev Nair (My Life Partner) shared the award for the best actor, while Nazriya Nazim received best actress award for her performance in Om Shanthi Oshana and Bangalore Days.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp