UDF Jathas from Tomorrow

Published: 18th May 2015 06:01 AM  |   Last Updated: 18th May 2015 06:01 AM   |  A+A-

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM:Amidst controversies within the UDF constituents regarding zonal jathas, the UDF has stated that the jathas will commence on May 19 as per schedule.

 Chief Minister Oommen Chandy will inaugurate the zonal jathas covering Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam and Pathanamthitta on May 19, UDF convenor P P Thanka-chan said. RSP leader N K Premachandran will lead the jatha, he added.

 The zonal jatha covering Thrissur, Palakkad and Malappuram districts will be inaugurated at Malappuram by Muslim League state president Panakkad Hyderali Shihab Thangal.

KPCC vice-president M M Hassan will be the captain in this leg.

Janata Dal (United) state president M P Veerendra Kumar will inaugurate the jatha covering Kozhikode, Wayanad, Kannur and Kasaragod districts, which will be led by Muslim League general secretary K P A Majeed. All the jathas will be inaugurated on May 19.

 Meanwhile, the zonal jatha covering Ernakulam, Idukki, Kottayam and Alappuzha districts will commence only on May 27.

 Kerala Congress leader K M Mani will inaugurate the jatha at Ernakulam.

Kerala Congress general secretary N Jayaraj will lead the jatha, Thankachan said.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp