TNIE Goal 2016 from Today

Published: 24th January 2016 05:13 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th January 2016 05:13 AM   |  A+A-

MALAPPURAM:   Faisal Rahman of Sree Kerala Varma College, Thrissur, the top-scorer in 2012, was snapped up by State Bank of Travancore. Jijo and Rahul also play for SBT while Ashkar has signed with Customs.  

“It is truly an effective tournament as far as players are concerned. The best part is its organisation and media exposure. TNIE doesn’t favour any team and, unlike other tournaments, the best team always wins,” says Narayana Menon, Kerala Santosh Trophy coach.

Kerala Chief Secretary Jiji Thomson will inaugurate the fifth edition of TNIE Goal at the Malappuram District Sports Council Stadium, Kottappady, on Sunday.

Former footballers Asif Saheer and Kurikesh Mathew, Malappuram municipal chairperson C H Jameela, District Collector T Bhaskaran and Kerala Chalachitra Academy executive committee member are among those slated to attend the inaugural function.  In the opening match, MES Keveeyam College, Valanchery, will play Sacred Heart College, Thevara.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp