TNIE honours women achievers with Devi Awards

Published: 24th July 2016 06:25 AM  |   Last Updated: 25th July 2016 08:16 PM   |  A+A-

TNIE honours

KOCHI: THE Devi Awards, instituted by The New Indian Express for women who excel in their respective fields, were presented here on Saturday.

The awards were presented by Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan. The winners include Ardra Chandramouli, Kariveppil Rabiya, Asha Jomis, Elizabeth Susan Koshy, Gayathri Thankachi, Captain Radhika Menon, Sajitha Madathil, Dr Shirley Vasu, T V Anupama and Vaikkom Vijayalakshmi.Delivering the keynote address, the Chief Minister hailed organisers of the event, at which women who have set a model for society were honoured.

“These are times when the challenges faced by women are widely discussed. Today, The New Indian Express is honouring ten women who might have overcome various challenges to achieve their goals. The main issue is that our society has a male-centred mindset, and there is a general negative attitude towards women. This is not a recent phenomenon as Manusmruthy says that women do not deserve liberation. It has to be seen as a deliberate attempt to deny women their rights. However, women in the State are gradually attaining equality with men, but there have been various struggles and agitations behind that,” said Pinarayi.

“There is a wrong perception among a section that women have no right to wear what they like to. Such an attitude needs to change, as women enjoy equal rights as men when it comes to their choice of dress. People who abuse women often justify their action saying that they wear ‘provocative’ outfits. The government will take strict action against those who attack women, and the excuse of ‘provocation’ will not save them,” added the CM.Earlier, The New Indian Express Editorial Director Prabhu Chawla presented a memento to the Chief Minister. Managing Editor of Event Express Shampa Dhar Kamath proposed a vote of thanks, while Resident Editor (Kerala) Vinod Mathew welcomed the gathering.

Kochi Mayor Soumini Jain, K V Thomas MP, Hibi Eden MLA, District Collector M G Rajamanickam, CPM district secretary P Rajeeve and former Mayor Tony Chammany, along with prominent personalities in the social and cultural fields, were also present.

Read More:

Devi Awards: Conquering the high seas

Devi Awards: Giving wings to many dreams

Devi Awards: Finding life in death

Devi Awards: Gunning for global glory

Devi Awards: Administering a healthier tomorrow

Devi Awards: Making culture her cause

Devi Awards: Singing her way into hearts

Devi Awards: Bringing women into the workforce

Devi Awarda: Going green with energy (joint award) 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp