Bypoll Violence: 2 IUML Men Arrested, 100 Others Booked

CPM agents were assaulted; stones pelted at police in Chengala

Published: 07th March 2016 06:56 AM  |   Last Updated: 07th March 2016 06:56 AM   |  A+A-

KASARGOD:  Police have arrested IUML leaders in connection with the assault on LDF booth agents inside a booth during the polling for the byelection to Cherkala West ward in Chengala panchayat on Saturday.

Vidyanagar police said Youth League Kasargod mandalam secretary Abubacker Siddik and Chengala branch president N Abdul Khader were arrested on Sunday.

During the polling for the byelection, a mob of suspected IUML activists barged into a booth at Government Higher Secondary School, Cherkala, and assaulted an LDF booth agent, Abdur Rahman Dhanyawad.

Dhanyawad, a member of the Chengala local committee of the CPM, had opposed a voter, who turned up without voter identity card, from casting his ballot.

CPM area committee members K Narayanan, T M A Karim, and K Ravindran also sustained injuries when they tried to stop the assault on Dhanyawad. Clashes between the two parties broke out soon after.

In the assault case, police had booked six IUML activists, including Siddik and Abdul Khader.

The CPM activists injured in the attack were undergoing treatment at E K Nayanar Hospital at Cherkala, said the party.

100 Booked

Police have also registered cases against 100 IUML activists, including Siddik, for attacking Vidyanagar sub-inspector and his officers during the violence that broke out during the bypoll to ward no 13 of the panchayat on Saturday.

The officers were pelted with stones when the police were taking the alleged leader of the assault gang to the station.

The police vehicle transporting the Youth League leader, Abdul Khader, was stopped by a large mob on the national highway, triggering massive clashes between the members of the two parties.

Police and their vehicle were pelted with stones, said officers.

The IUML sources alleged the police indiscriminately retaliated, injuring many passersby and party activists.

Vidyanagar SI Ajith Kumar, and civil police officer K Deepu were hit by stones.

District police chief A Srinivas reached the spot with more police personnel to bring the situation under control. They fired teargas shells to disperse the crowd.

IUML leaders said Abdul Khader was injured in the police attack.

“Instead of taking him to hospital, police took him in custody. That led to more protests,” a IUML leader said.

Soon after, a team of UDF leaders, including IUML state vice-president C T Ahmed Ali, IUML district president Cherkalam Abdulla, MLA N A Nellikkunnu, DCC vice president Balakrishnan went to Vidya Nagar station to register their protest. With Srinivas’s intervention, Abdul Khader was sent to a hospital, only to be arrested on Sunday morning.

Youth League Leader’s House Attacked

Kasargod: The house of Youth League Kasargod mandalam secretary Abubacker Siddik, accused of assaulting CPM booth agents, was vandalised at Santosh Nagar Saturday night. According to a police complaint, a gang of 20 person, threw stones at the house, breaking windowpanes. The shards of the glasses injured Siddik’s wife Rubina and a relative Hasainar

IUML, CPM Win Bypolls

Kasargod: The Indian Union Muslim League’s Sufaija Muneer registered a thumping win in the byelection to ward 13 (Chengala West) of Cherkala grama panchayat. She beat her nearest rival of the LDF, K Balamani, by 543 votes. Sufaija got 633 votes, while Balamani got 90 votes. The byelection was necessitated because the IUML’s Sarina Basheer resigned her membership because the party did not make her the panchayat’s president

In Pilicode panchayat’s ward 8 (Kodakkad), CPM’s M T P Maimunath beat her nearest rival, UDF’s K Lalitha, by 1,215 votes. Lalitha got 74 votes. Last time, the UDF’s candidate got 58 votes. The byelections were held on Saturday


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp