BJP Finalises Candidates for 62 More Seats

BJP has almost finalised the candidates for 62 more seats to be contested in the upcoming Assembly elections.

Published: 24th March 2016 06:27 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th March 2016 08:33 AM   |  A+A-


THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The BJP has almost finalised the candidates for 62 more seats to be contested in  the upcoming Assembly elections.

The BJP core committee and election committee, which met here on Wednesday, decided to prepare the final list by Thursday evening and the same will be submitted to the central election committee of the party on March 25.

BJP.jpgThe BJP had already announced candidates for 22 seats. A decision has been taken to field strong candidates in glamour seats like Thiruvananthapuram, Harippad and Malampuzha. Efforts are on to mount further pressure on actor Suresh Gopi to contest from Thiruvananthapuram.

However, Suresh Gopi has not yet conceded to the demand. He is of the stand that he cannot campaign in other constituencies if he has to contest in this election.

BJP national president Amit Shah is also expected to talk to him in this regard.

State secretary V V Rajesh is to be fielded against Home Minister Ramesh Chennithala at Harippad constituency in Alappuzha district. C Krishna Kumar will be the party's candidate in Malampuzha where Opposition leader V S Achuthanandan is seeking re-election.

In Thiruvananthapuram district, the candidates for two more seats have been finalised. While Punchakkari Surendran is likely to be fielded  from Neyyattinkara seat, Karamana Jayan is expected to be fielded from Parassala.

Yuva Morcha leader Prakash Babu is the candidate contesting against Pinarayi Vijayan at Dharmadam in Kannur district.

BJP leader from Palakkad, Sivarajan, will be fielded in Nemmara constituency.

BJP state secretary C Sivankutty and district president S Suresh are in the reckoning in the Aruvikkara seat where O Rajagopal came out with an unprecedented performance claiming over 34,000 votes during the bypoll necessitated following the death of former Speaker G Karthikeyan.

Sreeshant May be Fielded in Ernakulam

Cricketer S Sreeshant, who is actively being considered for being fielded as BJP candidate will get the ticket for Ernakulam constituency. Tripunithura is also being considered for him. However, in view of the fact that Thuravoor Viswambharan has already commenced his campaign from here, Sreeshant will finally be asked to contest from Ernakulam.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp