KC(D) to Get Poonjar Seat; CPM to Ditch P C George

Published: 27th March 2016 06:18 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th March 2016 06:18 AM   |  A+A-

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: As per the understanding reached with  the Kerala Congress(Democratic) led by Francis George and the CPM leadership, the KC(D) will get four seats, including the Poonjar seat, to contest. While the KC(D) had demanded seven seats, the CPM agreed to allot four seats - Idukki, Changanassery, Poonjar and Thiruvananthapuram. However, George has demanded the Kothamangalam seat also. The CPM leadership has offered to hold talks in this regard on Monday, ahead of the LDF meeting. With the Poonjar seat being allotted to the KC(D), the signals coming out from the LDF camp are that P C George, who had rocked the UDF by raising serious allegations against K M Mani and Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, will be ditched by the LDF.

NCP to Get Four Seats

The NCP will be given four seats to contest in the upcoming Assembly polls. The talks with the CPM leaders and NCP ended with the former agreeing to allot Kottakkal, Pala, Kuttanad and Elathur seats for the NCP. Though the NCP demanded five seats, the CPM did not yield to the demand.

JD(S) to Get Five Seats

The JD(S) will be allotted five seats, including all the four sitting seats. Chittoor will be the additional seat to be allotted. Though the JD(S) had demanded seven seats, the CPM offered five seats.

INL to Get Three Seats

The Indian National League, another associate of the LDF, will be given three seats. Instead of the Koothuparampa seat where the INL had contested last year, Kozhikode south will be given this time to the INL. Besides the Kasargod seat, it will also be given Vengara or Malappuram seat. The Congress(S) will get only the Kannur seat.


The bilateral talks between the CPM and CPI were inconclusive as the CPI demanded one more seat to contest. Though their earlier demand was for two more seats, the CPM demanded that the CPI should concede two of the seats it had contested last time as there were several new allies in the LDF. When the talks were held on Saturday, the CPM agreed to tone down their demand saying that the CPI need not let go any of its seats which it had contested last time. The CPI, however, insisted that they be given one more seat.

Nikesh, M Swaraj to be Candidates

Nikesh.JPGThe CPM has decided to field mediaperson Nikesh Kumar and DYFI state secretary M Swaraj in the Assembly elections. While Swaraj will be fielded from Tripunithura, Nikesh Kumar will be fielded from Azhikode.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp