Slew of programmes to mark EMS Ministry anniv

Former ministers who were members of the first Kerala Assembly  will be honoured at their houses

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The State Government has drawn up a slew of programmes to mark the 60th anniversary of Kerala’s first elected government. Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan will inaugurate the Diamond Jubilee celebrations of the EMS Namboodiripad-led cabinet - also the world’s first ever elected Cummunist Goverment that came to power in 1957 - at the Nishagandhi Auditorium here on Wednesday. Eminent artists and scholars are slated to descend on the capital as seminars, ‘Women’s Parliament’, music performances, play, dance, folk art, magic show, photo exhibition and multi-media presentations have been lined up running through to April 26.

Speaker P Sreeramakrishnan will preside over the inaugural function scheduled to be held at 5 pm. Opposition Leader Ramesh Chennithala and former Chief Ministers V S Achuthanandan, A K Antony and Oommen Chandy are among a host of dignitaries set to attend, Industries Minister A C Moideen told reporters on Tuesday. P Jayachandran and Vaikom Vijayalakshmi will sing the ‘Diamond Jubilee song’ at the inaugural to the accompaniment of a stage performance choreographed by Pramod Payyannur. Later, P Suseela will join P Jayachandran and the winners of the state film awards for a musical performance.

The second phase of the celebrations will be held from April 21 to 26 at the Nishagandhi Auditorium and the Kanakakunnu Palace. A day-long ‘Women’s Parliament’ is being planned with the participation of 2000 women while the photo exhibition will be held under the aegis of the Information and Public Relations Department.

Seminars will pan issues like Section 356 of the Constitution and the Centre-State relations, decentralised planning, coalition politics, Dalit issues and identity politics, NRKs and development. Bharat Bhavan is  executing the programmes. Ex-ministers K R Gowri and E Chandrasekharan Nair will be honoured at their houses by the Chief Minister and Speaker. The Governor will open the valedictory session on April 26.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The New Indian Express