Kerala NDA candidates’ list to be announced today

It is learnt that Sreedharan Pillai is not contesting the polls, instead he will concentrate on organisational work across the state.

Published: 21st March 2019 06:30 AM  |   Last Updated: 21st March 2019 01:22 PM   |  A+A-

Thiruvananthapuram UDF candidate Shashi Tharoor and BJP’s prospective candidate Kummanam Rajasekharan at the delegates’ meeting of Ganeshotsav Trust in Thiruvananthapuram on Wednesday | B P Deepu

By Express News Service

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The list of NDA candidates contesting the general elections from the state will be announced on Thursday. The BDJS and Kerala Congress have already finalised their candidates.

The BJP state unit, plagued by infighting and group activities, has to make several omissions and additions to satisfy several leaders as well as the RSS leadership before announcing the final list. While P S Sreedharan Pillai remained the frontrunner for the Pathanamthitta Lok Sabha seat, the pressure from various corners within the party and the RSS has led to K Surendran being considered as the candidate for the constituency. In Thiruvananthapuram, the BJP has already finalised the name of Kummanam Rajasekharan.

It is learnt that Sreedharan Pillai is not contesting the polls, instead he will concentrate on organisational work across the state. Senior leaders P K Krishnadas and M T Ramesh too will not contest, while Shobha Surendran will contest from Attingal.

In Kollam, the party will field Tom Vadakkan, former secretary and spokesperson of AICC. In Mavelikkara, Thazhava Sahadevan of BDJS will contest, while in Idukki it will be Biju Krishnan of BDJS. Kerala Congress leader and former Union Minister P C Thomas will be the NDA candidate from Kottayam, while Union Minister Alphons Kannanthanam is likely to contest from Ernakulam.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp