Cuttack municipal corporation to have 5 new wards

Published: 01st August 2013 10:06 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st August 2013 10:06 AM   |  A+A-

Cuttack city is poised to have five new wards with the Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) passing a resolution on delimitation of wards.

The CMC meeting held on Wednesday was unanimous on the proposal for increasing the number of wards from 54 to 59. The wards would be created by redrawing several existing wards on the basis of population and concentration of voters.

As per the resolution, seven wards comprising 1, 2, 3, 21, 23, 52 and 53 would be redrawn to give shape to new entities.  Wards from 1 to 3 encompassing the CDA, Bidanasi, Sandhapur and Bidyadharpur region have been proposed to be bifurcated into six wards while wards 21 and 23 comprising Bisinabar, Kesharpur, Rausapatana, Haripur, Samanta Sahi, Dolamundai along with Kathagada Sahi, Kumbhar Sahi, Nimasahi, Bhagatpur and  Tarachandpatna would be split to create three wards. Wards 52 and 53 comprising the region beyond Kathjodi river to Phulnakhara would be divided into three wards.

The resolution, along with complete demographics of the proposed wards including males and females, caste and community has been sent to the State Government for publication of the statutory notification for delimitation of the wards.

The Government is expected to issue the notification inviting objections by August 10 and the process of receiving the feedback would be completed by August 20. The final notification on the creation of new wards and reservation status will be issued by August 31, Mayor Soumendra Ghosh said.

Carving new entities has been deemed necessary as the population of the city has gone up to 6,10,189 in the 2011 census from 5.35 odd-lakh in the 2001 census. “As per norms, there should be 59 wards for a population of six lakh. With Cuttack population crossing the mark, required wards have to be created”, Ghosh explained. The process of formulation of new wards will have no bearing on the impending elections to CMC as the polls are due after February 2014. The process would be completed and formalised by the time elections are declared, the Mayor stated.

7 More Wards Added to BMC

Bhubaneswar: The Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC) submitted a fresh delimitation report based on 2011 Census to the State Government.

 Seven new wards have been added to existing wards as per  new delimitation undertaken by the State Government taking the total count to 67. Even though State Election Commission (SEC) has asked BMC to conduct election based on 2001 census report, Government issued directions for fresh delimitation under BMC. As per 2011 census report, city’s population stands at 8.40 lakh. According to fresh delimitation report, six wards have been reserved for SC , three for ST, 18 for OBC category and 40 for general. In total, 34 wards have been reserved for women and 33 for men. The population of each ward has been kept between 11,000 and 12,500.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp