Four more Maoist militia members surrender

Four Maoist militia members surrendered before Malakngiri SP Akhileswar Singh on Monday.

Published: 27th August 2013 11:53 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th August 2013 11:53 AM   |  A+A-

Four Maoist militia members surrendered before Malakngiri SP Akhileswar Singh on Monday. They were working as aides of Maoist leader Madhab alias Golla Ramullu who was killed in an encounter with the security forces near Chhiliba forest under Machhkund police limits on Friday.

Natives of Jodamba village in the cut-off region of Malkangiri, they are Muli Golari (22), Tilsu Khill (31), Damru Khill (30) and Kamlu Badnaik (28). The four were involved in extorting money from contractors, businessmen and Government officials on the direction of Madhab, police said. They were working as members of CPI (Maoist) Kudmulgumma Divisional Committee.

Producing them before mediapersons, Anti-Naxal Cell Inspector Abinash Reddy said the four will be rehabilitated as per the State Government’s rehabilitation policy for Maoists.

To a query on killing of Madhab, the surrendered Maoists said people in the cut-off region were happy over his death as he was a terror in the area.

Madhab was the mastermind of Janiguda ambush in February, 2012 which resulted in killing of four Border Security Force personnel including Commandant Jeevan Ram Khaswan and Deputy Commandant Rajesh Sharan.

He carried a reward of `four lakh on his head and was involved in several criminal cases in the cut-off region on the other side of Chitrakonda reservoir including Allampeka ambush that had led to killing of 38 AP Grey Hound police personnel.  He was also the mastermind of the abduction of former Malkangiri Collector R Vineel Krishna.

Prior to Madhab’s killing, eight Maoist militia members including three self-styled commanders had surrendered before Malkangiri police on August 14. They were also working as aides of Madhab, but there is no case against them in police records yet. In the outfit, they were instrumental in mobilising people to the meetings conducted by the Maoist leaders. The three commanders are Raghu Hantal, Patra Hantal and Iswar Hantal from Allampeka village in the cut-off region of the district.

The others were identified as Gangadhar Khara of Kurupdar village under Chitrakonda police limits, Sarathi Hantal and Gobi Khilla

of Totaguda village under Joadamba police limits, Chandra Khara and Trinath Hantal of Tunudumadi village.

Aged between 22 and 40 years, all of them had joined the militia under Gumma cut-off area dalam in 2009.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp