Assembly Adjourned Sine Die

Published: 29th July 2014 08:42 AM  |   Last Updated: 29th July 2014 08:42 AM   |  A+A-

BHUBANESWAR: The first session of the 15th Assembly was adjourned sine die on Monday by Speaker Niranjan Pujari.

The House, which started on June 12, sat for 25 days and passed one official Bill. The Government tabled the Justice AS Naidu Commission of Inquiry report on the liquor tragedy in Cuttack and Khurda districts.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Leader of Opposition Narsingh Mishra and Rabi Nayak participated in the valedictory proceedings.

Before adjourning the House, the Speaker appointed chairpersons of several Assembly committees.

Leader of the Opposition Narsingh Mishra was appointed chairperson of Public Accounts Committee (PAC) while BJD MLA Pratap Jena was appointed as the chairperson of the Estimate Committee.

Senior BJD MLA and former minister Prafulla Samal has been appointed as chairperson of Public Undertaking Committee (PUC) while BJD MLA Padmanav Behera was appointed as chairperson of the SC and ST Development Committee.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp