Jaydev Award for Sarada Nayak

A seven-member jury selected the awardees based on the social relevance of films, originality of the scripts and technical standards

Published: 14th November 2014 06:08 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th November 2014 06:08 AM   |  A+A-

BHUBANESWAR: Filmmaker and lyricist, Sarada Prasanna Nayak, will receive the coveted Jayadev Puraskar for lifetime achievement for 2013.

Ace filmmaker Sabyasachi Mohapatra will get the Best Director Award for his film ‘Sala Budha’ (The Stupid Old Man), a movie in Sambalpuri dialect highlighting the plight of elderly in villages of Western Odisha. Mohapatra’s nationally acclaimed movie has also bagged the Best Actor Award for its 83-year-old protagonist Atal Bihari Panda and the Best Film Award (Mohan Sundar Dev Goswami Award).

Archita Sahu has won the Best Actress Award for her role as a police officer in ‘ACP Sagarika’.

Jaydev.JPGThe 25th State Film Awards for 2013 were announced by  Tourism and Culture Minister Ashok Panda on Thursday. In comparison to last year, when the jury had scrapped awards for seven categories including the Best Film and Best Director, awards were declared for almost all the categories this year. Apart from the Best Children’s Film and Best Film in Tribal Language, where no entry was made, awards will be given in 27 other sections. Besides, the number of nominations too has increased to 16 films this year compared to nine last year.

Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress awards will be given to Ashok Das (Bachelor) and Sadhana Parida (Rumku Jhumana) respectively. Antaryami Panda (Gadbad) and Bhumika Das (Rumku Jhumana) have been declared Best Comedian and Best Child Actor respectively. While Pankaj Jal and Ghasiram Mishra (Sala Budha) have jointly bagged the Best Music Director Award, Ira Mohanty (Mu Raja Tu Rani) and Ratikanta Satpathy (Rumku Jhumana) will get the Best Female and Male Playback Singer awards respectively.

A seven-member jury selected the awardees based on the social relevance of films, originality of the scripts and technical standards. The State Films Awards apart, second State Tele Awards were announced on Thursday.

For the State Tele Awards, the Culture Department received entries from 10 serials. ‘Ahya Sulakhyani’ won the Best Tele Serial Award and its director Norottam Parida won the Best Tele Director Award. The Best Tele Actor and Actress awards have been bagged by Jagabandhu Panda (Ahya Sulakhyani) and Sweety Patnaik (Ahuti). Special jury awards will be given to singers Trupti Das and Sourav Nayak.

The film awards will be given away on November 21 and the tele awards on November 22 at Utkal Mandap in the city.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp