Arun Sarangi New IG of Intelligence

Published: 23rd October 2014 06:05 AM  |   Last Updated: 23rd October 2014 06:05 AM   |  A+A-

BHUBANESWAR : The Odisha Government on Wednesday posted 1988 batch IPS officer Manoj Chhabra as Chairman-cum-Managing Director of Odisha State Police Housing and Welfare Corporation (OPH&WC).

Chhabra was serving as Additional DG, Human Rights Protection Cell (HRPC) of State Police. He will replace Satyajit Mohanty, also an 1988 batch officer who has been posted as the Additional DG, Headquarters.

Similarly, M Akhaya, who belongs to the same batch, has been posted as the Transport Commissioner. Akhaya, an ADG ranked officer, was heading the State Crime Records Bureau. A notification of the reshuffle stated that Pranabindu Acharya will head the Provisioning wing of State Police while 1989 batch officer Amrit Mohan Prasad will head the HRPC.

The Government also posted 1990 batch IPS officer Yogesh Bahadur Khurania as the IG of Vigilance in place of 1990 batch officer Arun Kumar Sarangi. Sarangi has been posted as the new IG of Intelligence, a position which he held in the past. Similarly, 1993 batch officer Sushant Kumar Nath will be the new IG (Modernisation).

According to the notification, IG-ranked officer Sanjib Kumar Panda will now head the State Crime Records Bureau while 1995 batch officer Santosh Bala will be the IG of Fire Services and Home Guards. Bala, who served as Additional Police Commissioner of Bhubaneswar and Cuttack, will be replaced by PS Ranpise.

Similarly, 1996 batch officer Arun Bothra will now be the new IG of Crime Branch in place of Khurania. Bothra was on Central deputation.

The 1997 batch officer Sanjay Kumar will be the new DIG of Economic Offences Wing and Special Task Force by replacing 1998 batch officer Rajesh Kumar who has been posted as the DIG of North Central Range at Talcher.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp