BJP-backed Panel Wins UCBL Election

Published: 28th January 2015 05:58 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th January 2015 05:58 AM   |  A+A-

ROURKELA: The BJP-backed panel registered a sweeping victory in the election of the Urban Cooperative Bank Ltd (UCBL) at Rourkela by winning 13 of 15 posts of directors.

The results were declared by Panposh Sub-collector HS Behera after counting was completed on Sunday night.

Contesting from the BJP-supported panel with a common symbol of ‘green coconut’, former UCBL president Aditya Mohapatra won along with Akshay Rout, Rohit Samal, Machhindra Kalet, Rajesh Mohapatra, Sudershan Mishra, SK Samantray, Bibhudanand Tripathy, Ananta Jena, Sandhyarani Rout, Bhagyalaxmi Parida, Lalit Nayak and Purnima Kerketta as directors.

An independent candidate Sukant Mohapatra also won, while Sailendra Marothia of the BJD-backed panel won unopposed. The BJP-backed panel is likely to appoint Rajesh Mohapatra as new UCBL president. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp