College Teachers to Continue Strike, Ministerial Panel to Meet Again on February 25

Published: 15th February 2016 07:03 PM  |   Last Updated: 15th February 2016 07:28 PM   |  A+A-


BHUBANESWAR: The All Odisha 662 (+2 and +3) Non-Government Lecturers' and Employees' Association (AONGLEA) today announced to continue their agitation even as the first ministerial committee meeting headed by finance minister Pradip Amat failed to resolve the issue.

The college teachers have, however, decided to cooperate with the State Government in conducting the plus three examination which will begin from February 16 wearing black badges.

The next meeting of the ministerial committee will be held to discuss the demands of the college teachers and employees. Minister of state for higher education Pradip Panigrahi said preliminary round of discussion was held with the representatives of the college teachers' association.

As chief secretary and development commissioner are not present at Bhubaneswar, a decision on the demands of the college teachers will be taken at the next meeting, he said and added, "We requested the agitating college teachers to cooperate with the state government for the smooth conduct of the examinations," Panigrahy said.

President of AONGLEA Golak Nayak said that the lecturers will  cooperate with the State Government in conducting the plus III examination by wearing black badges. A decision on other examinations will be taken after the second round of ministerial committee on February 25, he said.

The AONGLEA is demanding abolition of block grant and introduction of a grant-in-aid policy. Though the college teachers have taken to the streets several times on the demand, no decision has so far been taken on this.

The Odisha Block Grant Teachers Association are also have also resorted to agitational path demanding abolition of block and introduction of grant-in-aid as per eligibility. The school teachers have announced boycott of HSC examination till their demand is accepted by the state government.

The other members of the ministerial committee are, minister of state for law Arun Sahu, minister of state for technical education Sanjay Dasburma and minister of state for energy Pranab Prakash Das.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp